AUX Switches: Cable COLOR CODE Wiring Identification

RobAmy

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
182
Reaction score
526
Location
Chepachet, RI
Vehicle(s)
2021 3.0L Turbo Diesel Rubicon
Yes thank you!

Are the black ends butt connectors or do I have to cut and splice into the wires in this bundle. Literally doing it now.
You need to cut the black end off
Advertisement

 

MauiSteve

Well-Known Member
First Name
Stephen Rodgers
Joined
Jun 27, 2020
Messages
205
Reaction score
274
Location
96753
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon 2 door, 2018 Colorado ZR2, 2009 Honda Ruckus, 1973 Honda CB750
Occupation
Mostly retired
I still need to figure out why mine showed no voltage. Weird
 

Mitbackwards

New Member
First Name
Tim
Joined
Jan 14, 2021
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Bay Area, CA
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Thx for all the info in this thread.

Basic rookie question, assume you can run multiple grounds on the same point? Wiring two sets of lights (four total) into aux 3 & 4 this weekend and plan to use the same ground point for each set. Any issues?
 

Wobblenuts

Well-Known Member
First Name
Matthew
Joined
Aug 7, 2019
Messages
129
Reaction score
91
Location
Titusville, Florida
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Occupation
Lockheed Martin Space
Anyone have issues with any switches not working? They all light up but AUX1 won’t click the relay. I swapped the relay and checked the fuse. Also checked wiring behind the switch. Any ideas?
 

JayJay

Well-Known Member
First Name
Johnny
Joined
Feb 13, 2020
Messages
741
Reaction score
1,675
Location
North Georgia
Vehicle(s)
'20 JLR
Anyone have issues with any switches not working? They all light up but AUX1 won’t click the relay. I swapped the relay and checked the fuse. Also checked wiring behind the switch. Any ideas?
You've checked to be sure that it's configured correctly in UConnect?
 

aham23

Well-Known Member
First Name
A
Joined
Dec 7, 2020
Messages
109
Reaction score
34
Location
Arizona
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon
Can I add more than one LED light to the same AUX switch? I’ve got a 21 JLUR with the Tow/Aux package.

If I have say a front bumper Light Bar and A Pillar Ditch Lights can they both be on AUX 3 or 4? I will have Rock Lights and Rack Lights for “camp” lighting as well.

How do we handle all the lights?
 

Rhinebeck01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
7,479
Reaction score
9,491
Location
.
Vehicle(s)
2018 2dr. Rubi
Can I add more than one LED light to the same AUX switch? I’ve got a 21 JLUR with the Tow/Aux package.

If I have say a front bumper Light Bar and A Pillar Ditch Lights can they both be on AUX 3 or 4? I will have Rock Lights and Rack Lights for “camp” lighting as well.

How do we handle all the lights?
Your Aux switches are fuse protected at either 15 amp or 40amp...

Aux 3 and 4 are both fuse protected at 15 amp... With that said all the lights you use in regard to Aux 3 or 4 dealing with them, cannot exceed say 12-13 amp...

Just be sure the total amp of all the lights you want controlled by the particular Aux switch does not exceed the amp rating of the fuse... Usually it is prudent to have the total amp draw of the lights to be a bit below the fuse rating..

DO, consider going with LED lighting as they are low amp ....

.
 

demisx

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dee
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
251
Reaction score
178
Location
Desert Hot Springs, CA
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon 4-door (black)
Going back to wiring CB and Ham together. I have Cobra 75 CB (3 amp max on Tx) and ICOM 5d-5100A (13 amp max on Tx). Since the “ignition on power” wire is rated 10 amp only, is the correct way to wire would be:

1. CB power -> “ignition on power” wire in passenger footwell
2. Ham power -> directly to the battery hot through firewall

My understanding is that I can’t wire them both to the “ignition on power” auxiliary wire because I’ll exceed max 10 amps rating, correct?
 

Revtech100

Member
First Name
Dale
Joined
May 25, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Location
Hurricane Utah
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU Rubicon
I have all 4 switches lighted up but switch 2 won’t power anything up. Fuses are good. Any suggestions on how to trouble shoot this?
 

Rhinebeck01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
7,479
Reaction score
9,491
Location
.
Vehicle(s)
2018 2dr. Rubi
I have all 4 switches lighted up but switch 2 won’t power anything up. Fuses are good. Any suggestions on how to trouble shoot this?
@Revtech100

Is this on a Aux that was installed at the factory or a Mopa Aux kit you installed..

A year or 2 ago on this forum a guy posted he had an Aux switch that lighted up but would not power anything.... and it turned out the problem was occurring because of a cracked connector on the backside of the individual, problematic Aux switch itself.. IF, I remember correctly the guy cracked the connector himself when installing the Aux kit.
 

Revtech100

Member
First Name
Dale
Joined
May 25, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
Location
Hurricane Utah
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU Rubicon
I installed it myself. I’ll pull it and check. Only #2 switch doesn’t work. Thanks!
 
Advertisement

Icon Vehicle Dynamics
 
Advertisement
Top