Re-Gearing a JLU

EasyDoesItNM

First Name
Misty
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sport S
So, I'm wondering then if the ESS faults are directly related to the ability for your gears to rotate the tires,etc., at a certain speed/rate? I'm new to the re-gearing side of things (never did it in the past), but i'd be curious to see the root cause as to why larger tires might fix the error message... Would 4.56 gears cause the same ESS error with 33s, but then go away with 35s for example?

Edit: Awesome rig by the way!
Hey there,

I have the sport and just did a swap for 4.56 on 33’s and so far no error messages. I’m about 35 miles into the break in period and plan on doing 35’s when my lift comes in.
Sponsored

redsyphon

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon
Occupation
IT Project Manager
Vehicle Showcase
Hey there,

I have the sport and just did a swap for 4.56 on 33’s and so far no error messages. I’m about 35 miles into the break in period and plan on doing 35’s when my lift comes in.
That's good to hear. Do you have the M220 in the back with the LSD & M186 in the front as well? If so, curious about what brand gears/kit you went with.

EasyDoesItNM

First Name
Misty
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
That's good to hear. Do you have the M220 in the back with the LSD & M186 in the front as well? If so, curious about what brand gears/kit you went with.
Mine is the M186 front and M200 rear w/out LSD. I did add an air locker to front and plan on add to rear at some point.

redsyphon

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon
Occupation
IT Project Manager
Vehicle Showcase
Very nice, I want to put a locker (would prefer an e-locker, but may have to go air) in the front. I'm still undecided if I want to replace the LSD with a locker in the back though.

Thanks for the feedback on your experience.

TheLion

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Sahara JL