Sponsored

Re-Gearing a JLU

Swanny297

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL
The Rubicon 220mm ring gear and the LSD 44 on the sports etc are the same 220mm ring gear. The only difference is the tube length is wider on the Rubicon and the locker of course. Both are 32 spline now as well.

Northridge’s website does not allow you to select 220mm if you have a sport so you’ll have to change your vehicle. They told me awhile back they were going to fix it.

I’m going 4.88’s with my 35’s. I have a manual and want to get my crawl ratio as low as possible. 4.88’s will take me from 48:1 to 68:1. I miss my Rubicon t-case!
I am new to gears so this may be a dumb question - I have a Sport S with LSD - if the gears are the same as the Rubicon in the rear does that change the 3.45 gear ratio?
Sponsored

intentsrig

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU Sporticon
I am new to gears so this may be a dumb question - I have a Sport S with LSD - if the gears are the same as the Rubicon in the rear does that change the 3.45 gear ratio?
Nope. We still hve 3.45 but in a 220mm rear ring gear size.

Ponyracer

First Name
Phill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU, 1986 YJ Brute (project!)
Remember, when talking gearing, you’ve also got to take into account for the heavy tires and extra weight we put on our vehicles with winches, sliders, and bumpers. Personally I’m going to 4.88’s. A few extra rpms on the highway isn’t going to hurt. It’ll be nice to have my top 2 gears back!!

GARRIGA

First Name
Alejandro
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Dodge Durango RT
Occupation
Finance
If I understand my friend who has been in the drive line business for years correctly, to establish a gear ratio close to factory specs a rather simple formula is applied. Determine the size of tires you want to run, multiply that tire diameter by the gear ratio currently in your vehicle then divide that total by the diameter of the tire the factory provided.