AUX Switches: Cable COLOR CODE Wiring Identification

jpb

Active Member
First Name
JP
Joined
Jan 15, 2018
Messages
37
Reaction score
19
Location
Surprise, AZ
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR, Soon 2019 JLR
Occupation
Engineer
I have the towing package installed by factory but under the hood I don’t see the battery or ignition wires, just the four aux switch wires. Am I missing somethintg?





Advertisement

 

Rhinebeck01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
5,306
Reaction score
6,163
Location
.
Vehicle(s)
9/1/20.............................................Am quitting the forum!..........Just an occasional lurker from now on...
@jpb

In the engine compartment, you will have Aux 1, 2, 3, 4 wires. That is all that is in that bundle. So, no battery or ignition wire there.

In the passenger foot well, you will find Aux 1, 2, 3, 4 wires and also, the battery and ignition wires.
 

jeepnewbie

Well-Known Member
First Name
Brian
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
77
Reaction score
105
Location
Raleigh, NC
Vehicle(s)
18' JLU Wrangler Sport S, 08' Toyota Tacoma
Occupation
GE Aviation
Vehicle Showcase
1
I have the factory installed Aux switches. Does anyone know if there is a Low Voltage Cutoff to protect the battery if the particular switch is programmed to run nonstop?
 

Rhinebeck01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
5,306
Reaction score
6,163
Location
.
Vehicle(s)
9/1/20.............................................Am quitting the forum!..........Just an occasional lurker from now on...
@jeepnewbie
I would say the answer is no. I base this no answer on info l have read on this forum over the last few months. A few guys have posted depleted battery issues when they left an Aux switch on...
 

Jcsieman

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jay
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
202
Reaction score
205
Location
Indiana
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS, Lexus RX 350
After wiring an accessory, should it work “out of the gate” or does something have to be done to activate the switches before use?

I installed LEDs under my seats and wired the positive to the AUX 4 switch wire and then grounded the black on the same bolt shown in this thread, and the lights aren’t working with the Jeep running and the AUX4 button pressed. Not sure if I missed a step, have a defective product, or what. Any guesses/advise?
 

BobK

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bob
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
385
Reaction score
169
Location
Parker, TX
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Rubicon Unlimited
Occupation
Semi-Retired
Vehicle Showcase
1
After wiring an accessory, should it work “out of the gate” or does something have to be done to activate the switches before use?

I installed LEDs under my seats and wired the positive to the AUX 4 switch wire and then grounded the black on the same bolt shown in this thread, and the lights aren’t working with the Jeep running and the AUX4 button pressed. Not sure if I missed a step, have a defective product, or what. Any guesses/advise?
Did you go the settings on the uConnect page to set how you wanted the Aux switch to work?

Momentary switch or power on/off. Powered with ignition or battery.
 

Jcsieman

Well-Known Member
First Name
Jay
Joined
Nov 28, 2017
Messages
202
Reaction score
205
Location
Indiana
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUS, Lexus RX 350
Did you go the settings on the uConnect page to set how you wanted the Aux switch to work?

Momentary switch or power on/off. Powered with ignition or battery.
Would that make a difference in this case? If so, what should the setting be bc when I looked at those it just seemed to ask if I want it to automatically come on or not.

I will say, I tested all the connections and it definitely appears to not be a Jeep wiring issues or even a me wiring issue. As far as my meter said, the wire is getting a signal....just can’t fogure out what is oreventing the lights from working. At this point I can only conclude rugged ridge sold me a crap product. Nothing else makes sense other than the leds they sold me don’t work.
 

BobK

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bob
Joined
May 24, 2018
Messages
385
Reaction score
169
Location
Parker, TX
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Rubicon Unlimited
Occupation
Semi-Retired
Vehicle Showcase
1
Would that make a difference in this case? If so, what should the setting be bc when I looked at those it just seemed to ask if I want it to automatically come on or not.

I will say, I tested all the connections and it definitely appears to not be a Jeep wiring issues or even a me wiring issue. As far as my meter said, the wire is getting a signal....just can’t fogure out what is oreventing the lights from working. At this point I can only conclude rugged ridge sold me a crap product. Nothing else makes sense other than the leds they sold me don’t work.

I would set the switch the LED's are on to "powered" not momentary and I would set them to ignition (unless you want them to be able to be on when the Jeep is not running, in which case you can set to "battery" I have no idea what the switch will do if you don't set it first.

Also check any line fuses, in case you blew one.
 

owltown

Active Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
36
Reaction score
26
Location
North Georgia
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sahara 2L turbo
Vehicle Showcase
1
Looking for a good inside ground
I am using the Aux switches and want to make sure i connect to a good ground inside the car. To bad jeep did not provide one. The only good place i found without taking apart the dash, was after removing the glove box (quite easily) there are two bolts holding two large terminator. The horizontal bar they are mounted on seems to be a good ground. But I do not want to interfere with jeeps electrical system. And heaven forbid do anything to interfere with the already flakey uConnect system. Does anyone know if this connector is an acceptable ground spot.
 

Rhinebeck01

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
5,306
Reaction score
6,163
Location
.
Vehicle(s)
9/1/20.............................................Am quitting the forum!..........Just an occasional lurker from now on...
@owltown

Not sure about the place you are talking about. I do know this passenger side foot well ground point is good to use. Very easy access to it. Many forum member's have reported using this ground point.
footground.jpeg
 

BBDOC

Well-Known Member
First Name
Victor
Joined
Nov 11, 2017
Messages
217
Reaction score
202
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
BMW 5-Series, Honda Civic, Honda Minivan
I am wiring a Cobra CB and I would like to use the wires under the footwell. I have been told in the past that the only right way to wire the CB was to connect it directly to the battery through the firewall. Would it be safe and appropriate to use the battery wire and ground in the passenger side as pictured above? I will only have the cb radio on and in the vehicle with me when wheeling or traveling.

Another question I have with regards to the all in one cb unit is placement. I have seen multiple people zip tie the little brain to the 2 angled pipes to the left of the glove box. This seems dangerous to me as these were very hot when I felt them after 30 min of cooling time. I zip tied mine to the plastic vent to try and keep it away from the heat of these pipes. Am I being paranoid? Is the plastic duct work ok for a mounting point?
 

safety_glasses

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
145
Reaction score
86
Location
USA
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon
Great comraderie in this thread, with pics of ground points, etc. it’s nice to see supportive members.

I have a question before I install some a pillar lights. I notice in some of the pics, the factory wires have what looks like heat shrink tubing. Do you have to completely remove this to splice wires? What’s the best method to physically splice into the aux wiring?
 

Torero

Well-Known Member
First Name
J. Diego
Joined
Apr 21, 2018
Messages
783
Reaction score
674
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
JL Rubicon, FJ Cruiser, BMW Z3, GTI, F650, MB GL63 AMG
Great comraderie in this thread, with pics of ground points, etc. it’s nice to see supportive members.

I have a question before I install some a pillar lights. I notice in some of the pics, the factory wires have what looks like heat shrink tubing. Do you have to completely remove this to splice wires? What’s the best method to physically splice into the aux wiring?
Yes, remove the cover and use the shrink tubes that came with the car ( some people didn’t get the little bag with them) or buy new ones. Nothing to it.
 

Advertisement




WheelsASAP
 



Advertisement
Top