David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
My shift from 4H to 4L never worked no matter what I did, most of the time.

Now, this isn't my first jeep and it was way to hard to get it into 4L. It never seemed to fully engage all the way back.

Took it to the dealer, left it.

Called me as fixed......... They adjusted the linkage or something not sure what the tech said.

Anyway, it shift smooth as silk and no problem getting into 4L or any position using the manual technique that I have been doing for 40 years.
Sponsored

sm16

First Name
Sanjay
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubi, 2016 BMW X6M
The light lift is the key for smooth shift
You're absolutely right. Did it today and it was super smooth and it was my first time shifting it 4H.

sm16

First Name
Sanjay
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubi, 2016 BMW X6M
Are you referring to lightly lifting off the gas when you shift or lightly lifting up on the shift lever?
I lightly lifted off the gas and constant pressure when moving the shifter from 2H to 4H. You feel it engage in your palm and the same when shifting back to 2H.

clago

First Name
Christina
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Sahara JL
Just experienced my JL in the snow... it requires Herculean strength to get it out of 4L. Not impressed with the 4wd... My JK is much better and easier to get in and out of 4wd.

Sponsored

old8tora

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 JK Sport
Just experienced my JL in the snow... it requires Herculean strength to get it out of 4L. Not impressed with the 4wd... My JK is much better and easier to get in and out of 4wd.
You need the light "palm" touch , like to poster just above you , in post #79 . Not the Herculean "fist" death grip .

( I've only tried the JK easier method .)

TJ3

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Grand Cherokee
I am in the same boat... cannot shift into 4WD. Bringing it into the dealer.

47Jeepster