Sponsored

To Idle or Not Idle

Sazabi19

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 Gator Gladiator Sport S, '22 Gobi JLR
Over in the JT forums years ago the issue of idling was brought up. While I didn't think much of it at the time since I had a 'tested' and 'proven' Pentastar V6, now I'm wondering if I should change how I warm up my vehicle since I've got the 2.0T. I'll start out by saying I'm not a mechanic and can only listen to each side of the argument and take whichever sounds more correct to me.

Basically it all boiled down to:

1. Let your vehicle idle and warm up before setting off in cold temps. Not only does it warm up the cabin but it gets the engine to proper operating temps and thus makes it easier on the engine.

2. If you're able, start it and then drive. Do NOT let it idle in cold weather to warm up. Idling in cold weather doesn't provide enough pressure to get the oil from the sump(? still not a mechanic) to everywhere in the engine it needs to be, thus not lubing everything as it should until it gets warm enough, possibly damaging the engine in the long run. The convention of needing the engine to get warm to run properly is outdated and new engine specs and tolerances mean you can get in and go.

So what do you guys think? Should a turbo'd (or any, really) engine be ran/warmed up because the magic snail has some other parameters that should be met before driving normally? As long as my windows aren't iced over I can usually stand to start driving and just turn the heat on when I start and go.
Sponsored

Anonymous

First Name
T
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
ā€˜20 JLUR
3.6 here. I have always gone off the rpmā€™s. When first starting the Jeep, the rpmā€™s will be a touch higher and then settle after a minute or so (never timed it). Once settled off I go. Now in extreme cold Iā€™ll let it warm up until the cabin is comfortable.

OP
OP
Sazabi19

Sazabi19

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)