Rubicon owners . Dash display

Bob Burd

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bob
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
69
Reaction score
87
Location
San Jose, CA
Website
www.snwburd.com
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
You can't seriously consider letting the dealer swap out your dash cluster for something cosmetic? While the odds are they'd do it right without issue, the odds aren't 100%

And I'll bet it will still come up Wrangler after the swap. If you read the posts here, it seems ALL the recons say Wrangler.





Advertisement

 

cmcullen

Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Jan 11, 2021
Messages
7
Reaction score
10
Location
Aliso Viejo
Vehicle(s)
2021 Sarge Green Rubicon, 2017 Ducati Multistrada
2021 Rubicon sez Rubicon.
 

Hound Dog

Well-Known Member
First Name
Don
Joined
Sep 21, 2020
Messages
353
Reaction score
493
Location
Haymarket, VA
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL Rubicon, 2002 TJ Rustomatic
Buy a Tazer and change the screen to what you want.
 

XxsullyxX123

Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
81
Reaction score
66
Location
Somers, NY
Vehicle(s)
2016 Audi S4, 2020 Honda Pilot Touring
Thank you everyone for taking the time to look at this and respond.
So when I took my Jeep in for the steering box replacement I asked if they could flash the dash to say Rubicon.
After contacting the Jeep engineers, they were told to do a hard reset on the computer. When they did that, they say It starts to show Rubicon and then goes back to Wrangler. So.....
If I want my dash to read out Rubicon, I have to leave it at the dealer for 2 weeks (or more) so they can order a NEW dash cluster with the same mileage it has on it now.
Crazy! I wonder if a Tazer will be able to change that or doI have other issues?
That’s insane. If tazer can do it very simply, i wonder why they cant? Honestly seems like a bogus Jeep dealer response to make it seem too hard so you walk and dont bother
 
OP
RubyRecon

RubyRecon

Active Member
First Name
Rick
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
31
Location
The OC
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon Recon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #36
So I actually took it to 2 dealers and got the same answer. And yeah, after taking it back 3 times after the steering box change , and the body damage they did, I’m going to buy a Tazzer and see what happens. I need to adjust the speedo after the 37s anyway.
Thank you everyone for your responses.
 

roaniecowpony

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
2,120
Reaction score
2,179
Location
90505
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR, 14 GMC 1500 CC All TERRAIN
Occupation
Retired Engineer
Man, covid is making us all nuts.
 

dgoodhue

Well-Known Member
First Name
Dave
Joined
Aug 22, 2020
Messages
243
Reaction score
199
Location
Framingham, MA
Vehicle(s)
'21 80th JLU
An observation from this thread is that all the Rubicon Recon display Wrangler. All the regular Rubicon display Rubicon.
 

Windshieldfarmer

Well-Known Member
First Name
Randy
Joined
Feb 27, 2020
Messages
653
Reaction score
858
Location
Wichita, Ks
Vehicle(s)
2015 JKU, 2020 JlU on order
An observation from this thread is that all the Rubicon Recon display Wrangler. All the regular Rubicon display Rubicon.
Yep - my Recon displays Wrangler...not worth messing with or thinking about....
 
First Name
Bill
Joined
Feb 9, 2020
Messages
8
Reaction score
50
Location
Danville, CA
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Recon, Jaguar XJL
Occupation
Unemployed
I bought JSCAN and the necessary adapters to set up my front camera. I recently found that you can change the splash screen to "Wrangler", "Sahara", or "Rubicon" very easily with it.
 
OP
RubyRecon

RubyRecon

Active Member
First Name
Rick
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
31
Location
The OC
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon Recon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #42
Both dealers tried to reset the computer per the factory tech support. They both said it would go to Rubicon until the key was recycled then it would go back to Wrangler.
Maybe the Recon says Wrangler because it has the Sahara Padded dash?
 

XxsullyxX123

Well-Known Member
First Name
John
Joined
Jun 22, 2020
Messages
81
Reaction score
66
Location
Somers, NY
Vehicle(s)
2016 Audi S4, 2020 Honda Pilot Touring
I bought JSCAN and the necessary adapters to set up my front camera. I recently found that you can change the splash screen to "Wrangler", "Sahara", or "Rubicon" very easily with it.
After delving into the programming section of the forum a bit and learning more about JScan vs. the Tazer mini, I also just pulled the trigger on the JSCAN app and necessary security bpass cable and OBD2 adapter. Cost me under $80 all in, and I have now enabled the Rubicon Splash screen. When I get my lift and tires I can change the tire size in the app and also the TPMS thresholds. This is all i was going to do with the Tazer for $329 and then it would sit in a drawer. Very pleased with what I was able to get done for a fraction of the cost.
 
OP
RubyRecon

RubyRecon

Active Member
First Name
Rick
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
32
Reaction score
31
Location
The OC
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon Recon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #44
After being told by 2 dealers I needed to replace the center instrument display and be down for 2 weeks I stepped up and bought a Tazzer mini. I just installed a Mopar lift and 37” BFG K02s so I needed to recalibrate the speedo anyway.
After watching YouTube and reading the instructions I thought it was going to be confusing. It was actually pretty straight forward.
My Dash now reads RUBICON , my speedo is dead on, my TPS is set at the factory low of 25psi and by backup camera comes on with my turn signals. I like the ability to program the Nav system on the fly also. (Done by the navigator of course)
All in all pretty happy so far.
 

Advertisement




TopLift Pros
 



Advertisement
Top