Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
2018 with 3.6L and auto transmission.

History: About 4 months ago we had the radiator replaced under warranty because it had developed a leak. Ever since I often check the reservoir bottle to make sure the level is all good and it has been.

We just got back from a 3 week long trip where we drove from Raleigh NC to Flagstaff AZ, off roaded, then off to Moab, off roaded, then off to Ouray, off roaded, then back to Raleigh.
Total of about 4700 miles, lots of 7 to 9 hour days on highways but also solely off roading.

Altitudes went from 300 ft above sea level to 12,900 ft above sea level. Temperatures from 95 to 54 degrees. Temps in engine were always normal but actually jumped 10 - 15 degrees when it was much cooler out and at altitude. It's funny to be at 96 degrees in Moab and running 204 coolant temp and then be at 54 degrees in Ouray at 12,000 feet and be at 214 but that is because the engine is working much harder due to thinner air.

The question is: can any of this have had an effect on the coolant level. It has dropped 1/4 - 1/2 inch in the reservoir bottle where previously it remained CONSTANT.
I can not smell any antifreeze at all.
Sponsored

morricus

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
Coolant system is a closed system, so if you're losing coolant, should only be leaking externally or burning it internally. But I have no experience with altitude. Sub'd to see what people suggest.

Djmatt85

First Name
Daniel
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18 JL Sahara
Vehicle Showcase
My guess is that there may have been a few air pockets that worked their way out over the past few weeks causing a drop in the reservoir. Some of the new cooling systems are difficult to bleed (or the tech didnā€™t do it properly). I would monitor just to be on the safe side, but should be okay.

OP
OP