gurneyeagle

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Audi TT RS and 2017 Audi Q3
Total newb here so please excuse what many will think is a dumb question -

Should there be any problems with a JL Sport four door with the available off road tires and limited slip diff driving on a beach? Saint Augustine, FL to be exact. The beach at Saint Augustine requires 4WD/AWD. The sand is loose and gets rutted sometimes. It's strictly a one way path that you pull off of to park near the dunes. I don't think they let you get close to the water.

My wife and I just moved down here, and want to get a 4WD or AWD vehicle. Lots of different opinions on the net depending what forum you are reading at the time. Some say a Wrangler is the worse thing for loose sand unless you get massive off road tires, but I really struggle to believe that based on the vehicles I've seen on the beach.

Also looking at a Toyota Tacoma 4WD and a Subaru Outback AWD.

Thanks all!
Sponsored

johnnymiz

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
you want to make sure you don't buy mud tires thinking you need traction.. soft sand is best driven on with non-aggressive tread...think passenger car tire tread. the trick here is to NOT dig in, but to float on top.
air down to 15psi to spread the tire out and give more float. 15psi will give you the float you want but shouldn't pop a bead.
don't use the brake... just lift off the gas and it will stop on its own. again, you don't want to dig in.

Torero

First Name
J. Diego
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL Rubicon, FJ Cruiser, BMW Z3, F650,GL63 AMG, STI

Should there be any problems with a JL Sport four door with the available off road tires and limited slip diff driving on a beach? Saint Augustine, FL to be exact. The beach at Saint Augustine requires 4WD/AWD. The sand is loose and gets rutted sometimes. It's strictly a one way path that you pull off of to park near the dunes. I don't think they let you get close to the water.