Ca-chunk when towing

nU7OuxIx

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon, YJ, Impreza
I'm very new to towing so I'm trying to figure out what's normal and what isn't. I have a lock n load articulating hitch and I'm towing an overland style trailer. Tongue weight is about 290 and not sure of the trailer weight; I would guess around 2k pounds. When attaching it, the jeep sagged a bit. What I did this weekend was install a set of 'air bags' so it wouldn't sag as much.

When I filled it up to 35psi it looked good. I measured it and I think the sag was maybe about a half inch lower from stock. But when I drove it, it seemed like something was wrong....I'm no expert, but it sounded like there was some sort of drivetrain ca-chunk. It happened when I was going over bumps at about 25 to 35 mph. It also happened when I started to accelerate and turn from a dead stop. You could feel it when driving.

I came back home and lowered the psi in the air bags to 15psi. It seemed better, but there's still a ca-chunk in the rear....which, I think, may be the hitch making noise.

Being that I'm new to towing, are these noises normal? Is it normal to feel the noise? I *think* it may be....and come to think of it, I think my 35psi air bag test drive was maybe the normal noise, but it just seemed and felt like there was something else going on with it.
Sponsored

Jim1964

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JLUR
Is that maybe a “Lock N Roll” hitch?

I’m not familiar with it, but I’d start by checking every element of the connection between the vehicle and trailer for any slop or loose motion. Any play in the connection between tow vehicle and trailer will be felt by a perceptive driver, usually felt even more than heard.

Heimkehr

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU 2.0T
checking every element of the connection between the vehicle and trailer for any slop or loose motion.