Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Agreed. Though all the angst makes for some amusing reading. It's like one of those teen dramas my daughter likes, but with numbers.
LOL!!
Sponsored

Sean L

First Name
Sean
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU, 2017 Honda Accord, 2014 Yamaha XVS 1300
Occupation
Retired Marine, Construction Estimator
Vehicle Showcase
Are people still upset in here? All Wranglers will kill a trail! Rubicons built for rocks will Kill a Trail, a Bone stock Sport will Kill a trail... They're all made for it.

offcamber

Banned
Banned
Banned
First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon, 2014 Grand Cherokee Limited Ecodiesel
Thanks for setting the record straight....unfortunately, things get said on a forum and then it gets repeated (I'm obviously guilty of it in this instance).

Question though...where did you get the numbers you're citing? Do you have a link?

I've read that the RockTrac was 110. And The sway bar disco motor might only be 13.3 lbs....but is that number the difference between the standard and electronic one, b/c the assembly is definitely heavier than that.

The tires and rock sliders standard on the Rubi will be a little more than the Sport as well.....but as I said earlier...in all, it's no more than a couple hundred pounds different. We're starting to split hairs though when you're talking with the top and without....now it's closer to a 100-150 lb difference in what was said or around 3% of the total weight.

Jeep's own website claims a 238# difference for the two models with the same tops....I'd wager they're more accurate than any forum "guesses" not based on an actual scale.

This is where my number above is coming from:

https://www.jeep.com/build.wrangler...DLK,SDA,X9,PRC,23B,APA/filters/filterGroup3:1

https://www.jeep.com/build.wrangler...SDD,UAG,X9,PBM,23R,APA/filters/filterGroup3:1