Upgrading Non-Alpine Audio

Drumpkins

First Name
Tanner
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler Unlimited Sport
See post above...any thoughts are greatly appreciated.
I am far from an expert but I would say yes. That way you can control the bass from your sub separately from the the rest of your speakers. I think it'd be best to turn bass down in your EQ settings and adjust it with the sub knob. That way you can take bass out of your other speakers which should improve clarity.

But honestly, this is pure speculation. I know about stage sound but almost nothing about car audio.
Sponsored

Drumpkins

First Name
Tanner
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Just was quoted $275+tax to install this 8" jl audio sub to tailgate like yours. They highly recommended a separate bass knob be added to control the sub volume seperate. This price includes 8 gauge wire and bass knob drilled on front dash. Is the bass knob needed?
Hmm. I would want to place it in an easy to replace spot like where your aux switches normally go or where the automatic windows switches go since I have neither in mine. You'd have to build a little box or something but I'd hate to drill into the dash for a knob.

cmb396

First Name
Chad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Crystal Granite JLUR
Just was quoted $275+tax to install this 8" jl audio sub to tailgate like yours. They highly recommended a separate bass knob be added to control the sub volume seperate. This price includes 8 gauge wire and bass knob drilled on front dash. Is the bass knob needed?
I had my bass knob mounted underneath the light switch to the left of the steering wheel. It's not needed per say, but I like having them.

cmb396

First Name
Chad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Nice...Why is it not needed?
You have your bass adjustments with your head unit. This just provides a further adjustability of your sub. You can turn it all the way up, or off. I personally wouldn't go with out one, but that's me.

Sponsored

ChattVol