First Name
Rollie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Mojito! Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Occupation
Electronics Technician at R. J. Reynolds
I'm finally ready to switch from my flux core wire welder to a MIG, but I want one made in the USA and still not too pricey. I found a Hobart 190 MIG which is made in the USA and actually has some Miller sourced pieces used in it. Although I've been welding for 30+ years and have used many different welders, I've actually never used a Hobart, so I am looking for help on what's good or bad on them. I do know I wont be happy with one of the 110V units so those are out. Since the Hobart 190 is a 220V unit it'll be able to weld anything I can throw at it in my little workshop.
Sponsored

Grand Lake Special

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JL Wrangler Sport Sarge Green
Occupation
retired teacher & building administrator
Vehicle Showcase
have used the hobart 190 as my garage welder for the last 10 years. Works great but mine doesn't have infinite voltage control. Just 4 power settings. No complaints .I use mostly .023 and a little .030. I just wish duty cycle was a little higher when I get involved in somethin larger. No complaints and have had zero problems.....Hobart used to be a big welder company in the olden times.

OP
OP
Carolina Jeeper

Carolina Jeeper

First Name
Rollie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
have used the hobart 190 as my garage welder for the last 10 years. Works great but mine doesn't have infinite voltage control. Just 4 power settings. No complaints .I use mostly .023 and a little .030. I just wish duty cycle was a little higher when I get involved in somethin larger. No complaints and have had zero problems.....Hobart used to be a big welder company in the olden times.