Sponsored

Tuff shine tire kit

jimim

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon, 2017 Tahoe LTZ
Hey guys. I’m not a huge shine tire look kinda guy. And all the sprays out there pretty much give u a shine. I have been using silicone gel for 10 years. No throw with the gel. When I got the Jeep trying to use the gel in all the sidewall treads was brutal. So I started to use a silicone spray and the gel for the rest of the tire. What I don’t like about the factory ko2’s is the sidewall already has a wonky shine to it.

so I decided to try this tuff shine package from auto geek. It’s ur typical clean the heck out of the tire and then coat It. More layers more shine.

so I tried it out today. I scrubbed the heck out of the tires to get all the silicone off of them to get a proper bond. They give u a brush in the kit and it’s really nice for getting in the treads. I deff got them clean as u all can see in the pics. Then I let them dry like it says to. The instructions say if there is any moisture u will not get a bond. Pretty muchthe instructions makes it sound like there is no way will get a proper bond so they don’t get calls I assume.

so pretty much I did the best I could. Then I costed them. It said avoid getting it dried on paint or rims. I figured that cause I used a spray version from a different company afew years ago. Nightmare. Complete nightmare. They give u a sponge to use. I hate these things. This one was pretty good. Once it gets too wet from do g all the wheels you start to get runs everywhere. Personally I feel 1 sponge per wheel. So when I coated with the sponge I followed right behind with 2 microfiber pads to take off excess. I buy these microfiber pads 100 at a time for sealants, polishes, and such. I use and throw. So with the help of the 2 microfiber pads and the sponge I kept it pretty clean. No issues on the rims.