Q: Vehicle contents security

Pilotjeep

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Sahara 2.0 eTorque
Hi, folks. I did a search and didn't find any related material, so I registered to ask a question. I'm thinking about possibly getting an Unlimited, but I have no experience with Jeeps.

How safe are the contents of your Jeep? What I mean is, I recently read something or other stating or implying that anything left in a Jeep is open to be stolen. I don't know whether this is just related to soft tops that could be cut to gain entry, or if there's more to it. I've also heard of doors being stolen, which could be related, but my concern is that I am a musician part of the time and I would by necessity need to have a vehicle with the same level of security as you would expect in an ordinary car.

What do you say?
Sponsored

Last edited:

Neanderthalman

First Name
Greg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
Hi, folks. I did a search and didn't find any related material, so I registered to ask a question. I'm thinking about possibly getting an Unlimited, but I have no experience with Jeeps.

How safe are the contents of your Jeep? What I mean is, I recently read something or other stating or implying that anything left in a Jeep is open to be stolen. I don't know whether this is just related to soft tops that could be cut to gain entry, or if there's more to it. I've also heard of doors being stolen, which could be related, but my concern is that I am a musician part of the time and I would by necessity need to have a vehicle with the same level of security as you would expect in an ordinary car.

What do you say?
If you have a hard top then a wrangler is no more or less secure than any other vehicle. Doors can't be removed if they're locked.

If you have a soft top some crackhead will slash your thousand dollar soft top to steal a nickel from the console, so leave absolutely nothing inside and the doors unlocked at all times.