Sponsored

Overland NOOB question

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
My family wants to start doing some overlanding in our 2019 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited. I have a total NOOB question here but again I am just getting started.

My current hardtop is painted. I am thinking of getting a used second hardtop on the cheap, attaching a roof rack and then installing a large rooftop tent for myself, wife and 3 kids (all 8 years old or younger). At the end of my weekend excursions, I would take the hardtop off that has the roof rack on it and reinstall my painted hardtop as I head back into the office for the week.

Any flaws in my logic here or things to watch out for?
Sponsored

jeepster345

First Name
Hunter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JLUS
I mean what’s the point of having two hard tops? Might as well just stick with the one top and save the money for other stuff or get a soft top that offers something else. Having a rack and tent wouldn’t hurt anything.

bigbaozi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrangler Unlimited Sport S
You can do this with the Rhino Rack, it keeps the same nuts for the hardtop removal plus a new set up front.

But I don’t really see the point, if you don’t want to drill into your painted hardtop there are some other options.

OP
OP
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Thank you for your response. I need a rooftop tent big enough for five. What kind of options are out there that would support that kind of weight without drilling into the hardtop?

bigbaozi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Thank you for your response. I need a rooftop tent big enough for five. What kind of options are out there that would support that kind of weight without drilling into the hardtop?
If you don’t want to drill the top, going to have to get one of the ones that goes around it. Gobi, or there are some others.

Sponsored

Aloha Offroad

First Name
Michael
Threads