Sponsored

Oily residue on drivers side of engine... normal???

Halstem1

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
  • Banned
Hey guys. I need some help or expertise.

I crawl around under the Jeep every few thousand miles to make sure everything is tight and where is should be. Noticed some oily residue up on the underside of the engine on the drivers side. Kind of hard to explain. I’m picturing it’s on the underside of the exhaust manifold. is this normal engine “grime” or should this not be here???

I’ll post a couple pics. One is looking up from the front between the diff cover and the yeti track bar. Second pic is zoomed in on that with the camera closer.

thanks.

078872BA-9C24-4617-8E54-9F40FD80A869.png

95E37A81-939C-49A0-A6F1-D9E784E5AE3F.png
Sponsored

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Take a look on your valve covers, specifically towards the front of the engine on each cover. Behind the dipstick you will notice a "plug" that plugs into the cover and has a wire harness coming off and then on the driver's side you will see the same thing. They are cam positioning sensors and they can leak if the O-ring goes bad. My wife's started weeping 20k miles ago and the dealer replaced them the other week for us. I didn't get any weeping down the engine like you are showing but it's worth looking at for you.
You can also put dye in the oil and trace it out with a black light.

OP
OP
Halstem1

Halstem1

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
  • Banned