Alternator charging question

Frostbit

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Bikini JLUR 3.0 Diesel, '96 Dodge Cummins 12V, '06 Dodge Cummins Dually
I noticed the dash voltmeter on my wife's 3.0 diesel with ESS (we disable it every start) acts differently than any other vehicle I've owned. It shows a charge into the mid 14's if coasting or braking but down into the 12's when driving under power. Is this how the Pentastar and 2.0 charge as well??????????
Sponsored

Goosed

First Name
Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR
3.6 pent here and I get the same sometimes.

SilentSkut

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Currently sans Jeep.
Occupation
Analysis-Paralysis Consultant, Alternator and Starter Expert
Yes. It's a smart alternator that will hold off charging when the engine is working hard, and when the engine load is light it ramps up charging.
I believe this is correct and has to do with gas mileage efficiency. FWIW, I rebuild alternators for a living.

Maverick909

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.instagram.com
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Sporticon, 1976 GMC K15 Lifted on 35's
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Electrician/ Industrial Furnace MFG
Clubs

yup my 3.6 is the same. nothing to worry about!

Sponsored

OP
OP
Frostbit

Frostbit

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Thank you everyone. Love this forum!! The reason I asked is a got a "big brother" alert via email from Jeep that there was an issue with my charging system even though there was no alert in the vehicle. I had not paid any attention to the voltmeter before the alert but then noticed what I thought was the odd charging pattern I mentioned.

My other vehicles are old school Cummins Rams and they charge rather linearly with an increase with RPM's.