Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
This is our first Jeep and we are now upgrading the bumper and adding a winch. I've tried to educate myself as much as possible but was hoping for some advice as well. Our price point is $1k for both together.

USE:
Daily driver with some decent offroading at Uwharie National Forest on weekends and Moab, Ouray and Teluride next July. We do NOT have a LSD and obviously no lockers either.

I've read a lot of reviews on Extreme Terrain website about Barricade bumpers for both JK and JL and one major complaint is that the finish is NOT durable and flakes/chips and then you get rust. They do make an Aluminum one and the lighter weight interested me very much and it seems to be well made after watching the video review by that guy that seems to be a straight shooter :) Obviously not as strong as steel but it will still take a hit and I don't see us beating the heck out of any bumper. Weight savings is 50lbs.

Here are some bumpers and winches that seem good quality and are in our price range.

bumpers:
https://www.extremeterrain.com/barricadeoy-series-aluminum-front-bumper-2018-jl.html
https://www.extremeterrain.com/redr...width-front-bumper-w-winch-mount-2018-jl.html
https://www.extremeterrain.com/redr...width-front-bumper-w-winch-mount-2018-jl.html

winches:
https://www.extremeterrain.com/rugged-ridge-nautic-9500-lb-winch-w-synthetic-rope.html
https://www.roughcountry.com/pro-series-electric-winch-pro9500s.html
Sponsored

jeep31

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler JLU Sport 2018
I'm also looking for a bumper and winch for my JLU sport. I'm also at a 1k price point.
I'm interested in the Barricade Alloy Series Aluminum for the weight, but there is no review of the product on the website.

Please let me know when you've decided on a product :)

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score