Sponsored

6 speed + 4L driving Advice

fdFifty

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
I'm not terribly new to 4 low / trail driving, but I'm completely new to the ways of the third pedal.

The ability to choose the exact gear I was in while on the trail was a huge factor in deciding to go this route. I've read and understand that "skip shifting" this (or any transmission really) isn't such a good idea. Does operation in 4wd low range alleviate or increase risk of damage while doing this? My main concern isn't necessarily the act of "skip shifting" itself but instead with the ability to start from 3rd or maybe even 4th while in low range. Is doing so ill-advised?

I absolutely love having the 6 speed so far, and want to keep the clutch/synchros healthy and smooth. Any advice on how I can use the transmission to its full potential offload while not introducing unnecessary wear and tear would be greatly appreciated!
Sponsored

Jeepjunkie

First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU Sport
Vehicle Showcase
In 4-lo I often start in 3rd, although it’s obstical dependant. I also skip shift all of the time in 2-hi, for example accelerating in 2nd, I may shift directly into 4th. The trick is to not rush skipped shifts and let the input shaft decelerate appropriately. The sycros will have to work extra hard on a rapid & skipped up shift.

vavaroutsos

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Sprinter Crew Van 2500 High Roof 144" WB OM651 Brilliant Silver, 2019 JLR 3.6L 6SPD Granite Crystal
There is no issue with starting in 3rd (or any other gear) when in 4 low. The issue is with the syncros as mentioned by @Jeepjunkie. When you skip gears the amount of change required in input shaft speed to match the new gear is large. This requires heavy work from the syncros and can wear them out prematurely.

iklln6

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JL Unlimited Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase