Sponsored

4xe owners - love it / hate it?

Dryver

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Wrangler 4xe "Bridgette"
Love it. Daily work commute without gas, but can still use gas for long trips so can avoid long recharge waits, great power/acceleration when needed, sits higher than the non-PHEV Rubi without having to lift it, and it's every bit a Wrangler.
Sponsored

Dryver

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
The clearance for both Rubicon and Rubicon 4xe is the same though - 10.8".
Yes, the clearance is the same because they both have the same wheels/ tires and thus the same distance under the pumpkin, but the body/frame sits higher but about 1".

Olga

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR, 2010 Ford Fusion
Build Thread
Link
Yes, the clearance is the same because they both have the same wheels/ tires and thus the same distance under the pumpkin, but the body/frame sits higher but about 1".
This is the earnest question (and I'm a newbie): so what's the advantage of this extra 1"? It doesn't seem like 4xe can accommodate a larger tire than the regular Rubicon. Isn't it just slightly worse from aerodynamics point of view? Am I missing something?

michail

First Name
Michael
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Sahara 4xe
Curious as to whether your going to get Rubi wheel/tire setup or stay with the 20’s that come with the Sahara 4xe…I still can’t decide which way to go…love the 20” wheels but the tires are useless in the sand and I plan on taking it to the beach
I drove through a good quarter mile stretch of sugar sand that was up to my skid plates at times. I had almost no steering and just went with the ruts. I didn't have a chance to get into 4L which would have helped. I had to stop for a bit to let the transmission cool.

I got through just fine and was impressed a stock 4xe handled it. Although I don't want to drive anything that deep again with a pure stock setup. I think it's a miracle I didn't need an extraction.

Sponsored

michail

First Name