Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I have a 2018 JLU Sahara that is black. Getting ready to do the first waxing of the paint. The question is this... what is the best wax that will not turn white when it dries? I can't stand when you accidentally get some wax on a piece of rubber or plastic and then can't get the white residue completely off. Plus inevitably the wax will get in some nook where you can't get it out of and on a black Jeep it sticks out like a sore thumb.
Sponsored

mdelzer

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.undercontrollabs.com
Vehicle(s)
2018 JULR Sting-Gray
Occupation
Developer, Home Automation and AV
Don't wax it. Have a detailer paint correct it and then do a ceramic coating. With black this will be an investment that will last years. Especially if you don't like the residue. Also using detailers tape will help keep the wax off of areas it shouldn't be if you do go with wax.

Mattyp1214

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Black 2018 JLUR
Don't wax it. Have a detailer paint correct it and then do a ceramic coating. With black this will be an investment that will last years. Especially if you don't like the residue. Also using detailers tape will help keep the wax off of areas it shouldn't be if you do go with wax.
Plus one on this! I didn't let my dealer touch mine though because my local guy preps them so good. He had it for 3 days. Full on wash, clay bar, polish then applied Gtechniq Crystal Serum light and EXO. Came out looking better than new.
Best brands are opticoat, Gtechniq, c.quartz, and ceramic pro. I went with Gtechniq because of the price and looking at reviews was just as solid as other products priced much more. Mine was about $600 for everything. Washes so fast now, super hydrophobic, has a great shine.

IMG_0782.jpg

texasbryan

First Name
Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)