Sponsored

CB Antenna Mount Needed!

desert runner

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR MetalCloak 2.5F/3.5R, LoD Bumper/Carrier.
I’m no expert but isn’t a properly tuned cb based upon certain wire and antenna length? Something to do with the length of the radio waves?

Also regarding the ground plane talk above, couldn’t you apply an appropriate ground strap from that mount to the chassis/frame ground to achieve proper grounding?
Antenna cables come in different lengths, what counts is the length of the antenna itself.
Sponsored

desert runner

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
the cover is plastic plus i have cube lights mounted there
So maybe you have something like this installed? The bracket I am proposing could be mounted right on top of it. Of course, alternatively you could use a standard antenna L bracket and attach it to this light mount.

upload_2018-4-25_17-24-9.png

The fact that the cover below is plastic may be irrelevant, as long as the bracket is grounded via the bolts.

DickZip

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Jl Rubicon
IMG_3216.jpg

I think it could work, but not for me. I don't think that location is strong enough because of the plastic cowling. I bet it would be easy to damage.

desert runner

First Name
Peter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Until we have more aftermarket antenna mount choices for the JL, here is my solution.
A 15” trucker rubber duck antenna hidden behind the canvas.
Good enough to communicate in close proximity, which is mostly what I need it for.

FC4EF20D-C95B-4C67-8AB0-16BA54537E92.jpeg

Last edited:
OP
OP
DanW

DanW

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JLUR, 18JLUR, 08JKUR, 15 Renegade, 04 WJ
Vehicle Showcase