Selec-trac question - does it "lock"??

8flat

First Name
Gary
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Hi everyone, newbie here, I searched the threads but couldn't find this specifically. I'm ready to buy a '19 JLU, waffling between which t-case to go with. Wife and I love auto 4WD for highway trips (we're in Montana) where it's intermittent dry pavement, icy hills, spotty snowpack, etc.

BUT........my 2011 Ram 1500 transfer case is a pile of crap when I'm stuck in snow, mud. Even in "4WD Lock" it engages and dis-engages constantly. Sounds like the drivetrain is literally going to fall out of it.

I do not want that in a jeep. So does the Selec-trac case actually lock the two outputs together in "4H Part Time" position, or will it act like my ram and bang in and out depending on wheel spin?

Thanks!!! Great forum here.
Sponsored

SecondTJ

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep
In addition to 4Auto, the MP3022 has a 4H part time that electronically "locks" the clutch packs (no center differential) to provide a 50/50 split, as well as 4L

OP
OP
8flat

8flat

First Name
Gary
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
In addition to 4Auto, the MP3022 has a 4H part time that electronically "locks" the clutch packs (no center differential) to provide a 50/50 split, as well as 4L
Thanks. Although I'm not real trusting of that because my ram is technically supposed to do the same thing but it doesn't work well. In practice, does the 3022 lock up solid and stay locked, even when getting thrashed on? I'm sorta tough on things when I'm stuck. haha

robaw

First Name
Rob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLU MOAB (MOJITO!), 2009 Honda CBR600RR
Not sure that this helps to answer your question at all, but I drove through about 6-8 inches of snow with packed snow/ice under it up a slight incline. Couldn't make it in 2H, but shifted to 4H Auto and had zero problems. Felt smooth the whole time.

Mrjimmystewart

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)