Vehicle(s)
2022 rubicon 4xe
Why on earth would you install a second 12v battery in a 4xe

Slate

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'97 Wrangler Sport, '23 Rubi 4XE
Same reason as a non-4Xe? Especially one with aftermarket stuff like lights, winch, and compressor?

(In my case, I am working on a separate issue with my 12V in my 4xe. I need that resolved, before I would consider something like this, but I am curious either way.)

Bzinsky

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 rubicon 4xe
Same reason as a non-4Xe? Especially one with aftermarket stuff like lights, winch, and compressor?
The 4xe already has a 2nd battery, and it’s about 30x the size

Slate

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I am not an expert, but I can tell you that the HV battery does not charge the 12V battery - not in the way that one might think. The accessories are tied to the 12V battery (as they are 12V rated of course). So I wouldn't necessarily assume that accessories that are plugged into the 12V battery would be able to tap into the HV battery and run for days.

Happy to be educated as I am still learning the full capability.

I understand that the '24 4XE will have the option to have a distribution box plugged into the port and run external devices, which is pretty dang cool.

Sponsored

Slate

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)

Senrusho

First Name
Sam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Wrangler 4xE Robicon
I don't think it has been. I asked Shane when I met him at overland expo last year and he said that he couldnt get his sisters Jeep in (I think she moved? I cant remember)

It really is an easy fix to do the Jeeperz Kreeperz bracket mod though.