Sponsored

I can literally see the Milestar Patagonia tires wearing!

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Running the 37x12.5x17 tires and I noticed something very disheartening yesterday on a road trip. I know these tires are not known for their long wear, i.e. I'm not going to pull 40k plus miles even on a 5 tire rotation on these things and based on price I was OK with that.
Yesterday we were on a 5 hour road trip with outside temps at 80 degrees. Twice I noticed when we stopped that I could see "rubber dust" for lack of a better term on the tread. I took my finger and rubbed across the tread and sure enough the "dust" came off on my finger. I've got around 4k miles on them and I am getting ready to rotate them. I can also see there is some slight cupping which these are known for. I have NEVER seen a tire "dust" like this and it seems most noticeable in the heat. By the time we got home the temp dropped and I don't see it on the tires now.
This will be my first and last pair of Pats since I am not fond at all of their roundness. Will be cutting the Mrs. Jeep over to the Cooper STT that I run on my Jeep. Love those tires, good wear and nice flat tread.

Anyone else experiencing this on the Pats or any tire for that matter?
Sponsored

STRUBI

First Name
Stacy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep JL Rubicon Unlimited
Running the 37x12.5x17 tires and I noticed something very disheartening yesterday on a road trip. I know these tires are not known for their long wear, i.e. I'm not going to pull 40k plus miles even on a 5 tire rotation on these things and based on price I was OK with that.