Flat-tow Set-up

lightsout

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 4xe Rubicon, 2018 Wrangler Sahara JL, Tesla S
Build Thread
Link
Newbie here who found this forum today while searching for information on towing with a RH bumper. This is certainly a touchy subject but I have only 1 question right now. Does anyone have photos comparing the LoD bracket with the factory brackets attaching the bumper mounting plates to the frame?

Mopar does MOT have any Frame tie in bracket and Mopar Does not recommend towing via the bumper (only a frame mounted to bar or frame tie in bracket) so the LOD Tie in Bracket is the only option out there right now that provides Mopar compliance to circumvent the frame plate. The Bumper frame plate simply is not strong enough on its own which is why the Frame Tie in Bracket is so important...
Sponsored

Al G

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler JLU
Mopar does MOT have any Frame tie in bracket and Mopar Does not recommend towing via the bumper (only a frame mounted to bar or frame tie in bracket) so the LOD Tie in Bracket is the only option out there right now that provides Mopar compliance to circumvent the frame plate. The Bumper frame plate simply is not strong enough on its own which is why the Frame Tie in Bracket is so important...
There most certainly are brackets already there. You even included a photo of them in post #87 of this thread. I'm simply asking if anyone has a photo comparing the LOD brackets (which even you approve of) with what came from the factory.

I'm well aware of your views on bumper towing after reading it many times on numerous threads. I'm interested in gathering enough information to make my own informed decision.

Since you been very adamant that bumper towing is not approved what evidence do you have that towing is approved with the LOD brackets?

zb39

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)