First Name
Bryce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Vehicle Showcase
Don't forget you need a license.
Correct. To legally use these Baofeng UV-5R radios you need an FCC Ameture Technician Class license to transmit on 2m and 70cm bands. That is unless it's a life or death emergency, then I guess you get a pass.

Also, these can usually transmit outside of the 2m and 70cm bands (such as FRS or GMRS). This is illegal to use these radios outside of the approved frequencies even if you have a Ham license or the appropriate band license (like GMRS).

With that said, ya, I've got a Baofeng UV-5R and a Yaesu VX-5R (that one will transmit on all kinds of frequencies outside of the 3 bands it was sold for). And ya, I have a Technician class license. Passed all my written tests up to Expert Class 20 years ago. But could never master Morse Code, so, I'm a lowly non-code Tech. I need to go take my writtens again now that codes not required.
Sponsored

Bryce

First Name
Bryce
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JLUR
Vehicle Showcase
Doesn't need one for FRS or GMRS.
Not for FRS. For GMRS you do. https://www.fcc.gov/general-mobile-radio-service-gmrs
Ya, the band plans overlap, but GMRS allows for more Xmit power.
If you are using a UV-5R outside of 2m or 70cm bands, its techilnically illegal because the equipment is not certified for these bands. Hell, there's debate on the UV-5R transmitting being legal on any frequencies.

fat_head

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU
Not for FRS. For GMRS you do. https://www.fcc.gov/general-mobile-radio-service-gmrs
Ya, the band plans overlap, but GMRS allows for more Xmit power.
If you are using a UV-5R outside of 2m or 70cm bands, its techilnically illegal because the equipment is not certified for these bands. Hell, there's debate on the UV-5R transmitting being legal on any frequencies.