OP
OP
garkoi

garkoi

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon JL Unlimited
Since many people report the engine knock at high temps, it would be interesting to see if a lower temp would keep the mixture richer, therefore eliminating the knocking. The theory is the mix is too lean at higher temps.
how dare you question the engineers, its made that way, but seriously i think for the knocking issue A lower thermostat wont help, i would go with a high cfm aux pusher fan and route a switch inside the cabin, for testing.

My idle temps on a 3.6 MT get over 215 on a hot day when sitting for a while. Do I have a 220 degree thermostat?
It means you cooling system is inadequate, if at no load you temps are hitting 215 then u might want to get it checked out or upgrade your system, if you want suggestions with that let me know.

You're not an engineer. You are wrong.
Yep i am not, im just a electrical engineer, just like all the people who said the steering felt wrong and all the people who said its normal, till jeep decided oh its not, we now have a new steering box, then all of them decided hey its not normal i want it changed too, the mopar springs bowing on both or just one side that was also normal. Its my jeep if i wanted to run it the way they manufactured it i wouldnt have bought a wrangler, people will do anything but answer your question.
Sponsored

jessedacri

First Name
Jesse
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Bright White 2dr JL Rubicon 3.6
how dare you question the engineers, its made that way, but seriously i think for the knocking issue A lower thermostat wont help, i would go with a high cfm aux pusher fan and route a switch inside the cabin, for testing.

It means you cooling system is inadequate, if at no load you temps are hitting 215 then u might want to get it checked out or upgrade your system, if you want suggestions with that let me know.