Sponsored

Understanding Rims/tires size compatibility

5Ma

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon JLU
https://goo.gl/images/IAv0UH

I’m trying to understand the compatibility of the tires/rims combo. From the chart above, seems min/max width for a tire that can go onto a 7.5” width rims is 205mm to 235mm so why does the factory standard wheels/tires size outside of this range?
Wheels are 17x7.5” and tires are 285/70R17.

I’m new to all this and try to search the internet for answers but can’t find an explanation. Please help, thanks in advance.
Sponsored

Holymoly1963

First Name
Walter
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mazda 3, Wrangler JL Sport with bad steering
https://goo.gl/images/IAv0UH

I’m trying to understand the compatibility of the tires/rims combo. From the chart above, seems min/max width for a tire that can go onto a 7.5” width rims is 205mm to 235mm so why does the factory standard wheels/tires size outside of this range?
Wheels are 17x7.5” and tires are 285/70R17.

I’m new to all this and try to search the internet for answers but can’t find an explanation. Please help, thanks in advance.
Great question!

OP
OP
5Ma

5Ma

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Rubicon JLU
Because the chart is wrong.
Obviously something is wrong.
Dan,
I saw your post on another thread about putting on 315/70r17 on the OEM wheels, you have experience with it so I’m sure you knew they will fit before you buy the tires but for a beginner, how can we tell if a 12.4” tire width will fit on a rim with 7.5” width?

BillyHW

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
-
The tire manufacturer will usually have similar charts on their websites. I would first check those for the brand of tires you have.

Sponsored

Lurvis33

First Name
Luke
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
‘18 Sting-Gray Sahara
Vehicle Showcase
Dan,