Sponsored

Auxiliary Battery - where is it and what's its function?

Zman1403

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Rubicon
I am new to the Jeep world. Took possession of my 2020 Ribicon yesterday. Only 2,696 miles. It is the eco diesel model. I have seen numerous You Tube videos showing how to change the Auxiliary battery. I don’t need to do that now. However I cannot find even a mention of it in the owners manual or the eco diesel supplement. Can anyone advise where it is and what exactly it’s function is. I am planning to purchase a secondary power source like the Goal Zero to power my Alpicool refrigerator. However I still want to know about the auxiliary battery.
Sponsored

brewdad

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Ram; 2014 T&C
It is a small motorcycle size battery located beneath the main battery.

Heimkehr

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU 2.0T
I am new to the Jeep world. Took possession of my 2020 Ribicon yesterday. Only 2,696 miles. It is the eco diesel model. I have seen numerous You Tube videos showing how to change the Auxiliary battery. I don’t need to do that now.

I still want to know about the auxiliary battery.
On my 2021 non-eTorque 2.0T, the auxiliary battery restarts the engine when the Engine Start Stop function is turned on.

MEHillwalker80

First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler Sport S JL 2 DR 1999 Chevy Suburban K1500
On my 2021 non-eTorque 2.0T, the auxiliary battery restarts the engine when the Engine Start Stop function is turned on.
You have it backwards. The Aux battery keeps keeps accessories and computer alive when the ESS stops the engine. The size of the Aux battery is insufficient to provide cranking current to the starter motor anyway. It only is there to keep systems alive when the alternator is not producing anything. Consider what happens to the systems when the Aux battery fails to keep the main computer happy. Lots of lights and warnings.