Splicing additional lights into the fog lights

EB12

First Name
Elvir
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL
I’m adding two additional light pods and i was wondering if it’s possible to splice into the factory fog light harness so that these turn on at the same time when i turn the fog light on? I’m not experienced with automotive electrical components so i was wondering if anyone has done this before or if it’s even possible.
Sponsored

Creeker

First Name
Jim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
CJ-7, 2020 JLR
Build Thread
Link
As with most things electrical (I'm a EE), it depends.
The factory wiring's uses relatively small wiring.

My $0.015 worth, have the factory wiring trigger a relay. For the loads to/from the new lights, use from a new wire from the battery using a fuse (Maybe 12 awg). If you have a winch up in the front already, then tap off the hot leg with a fused wire that will power the lights.

Of course you can use the aux switches

Rhinebeck01

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'18 JL Rubi, '22 Prevost M H3-45,'01 Harley FatBoy
@EB12

IF you tap into your fog lights and draw even just a few watts, you will see CanBus throwing a pissy fit.. With that said, I do suggest you get your 12v power elsewhere.

Do you had Aux switches? Are your pods wired whereas they have a switch as part of the harness they share?

OP
OP
EB12

EB12

First Name
Elvir
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL
@EB12

IF you tap into your fog lights and draw even just a few watts, you will see CanBus throwing a pissy fit.. With that said, I do suggest you get your 12v power elsewhere.

Do you had Aux switches? Are your pods wired whereas they have a switch as part of the harness they share?