First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR GME Mojito!
Occupation
Semi retired
Does anyone know why one of the hood bezel designs say 'with pedestrian warning'?

https://www.quadratec.com/p/mopar/hood-air-inlet-bezel-jl-jt-

Is it to do with the openings or is it related to different trims?

Thanks
I don’t know what the ‘pedestrian’ reference means but they’re what we get in the U.K.

Your hood looks to be the same as ours and is a different shape to the US version, also we get steel not aluminium. These differences are allegedly for pedestrian safety.

I’m not sure the bezels are interchangeable, they look to be a different shape to me.

melendez69

First Name
Marc
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 3.6 JLR / 2013 911 / 2013 E92 M3
Occupation
...huh?
Vehicle Showcase
The bezel has larger inlets to house a pedestrian-sensing thingy that triggers deploying a pop-up hood. I've read some articles about it, but I readily admit I have very little mechanical knowledge of this.

NHTSA has a write-up on it. It also mentions how we "...don't have pedestrian-protection" vehicle requirements here in The States.

https://www-esv.nhtsa.dot.gov/Proceedings/24/files/24ESV-000111.PDF

OP
OP
rubileon

rubileon

Banned
Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR RHD 3.6
  • Banned
The bezel has larger inlets to house a pedestrian-sensing thingy that triggers deploying a pop-up hood. I've read some articles about it, but I readily admit I have very little mechanical knowledge of this.

NHTSA has a write-up on it. It also mentions how we "...don't have pedestrian-protection" vehicle requirements here in The States.

https://www-esv.nhtsa.dot.gov/Proceedings/24/files/24ESV-000111.PDF
Interesting read but there's nothing of the sort in the hood vent itself.

Sponsored

Kyanche

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon