First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Rubicon EcoDiesel (11th Jeep)
Occupation
Retired CFO. Mayo Clinic volunteer.
They make a similar amount of torque. The 392's is slightly more, but at higher RPMs. How badly would a 392 beat an EcoDiesel in a tug-of-war? I'm no engineer (far from it), but I don't think that the huge horsepower advantage would make any difference in a from-a-dead-stop pulling contest. This would be all about low-end torque.

[Pardon the lazy Saturday afternoon physics question.]
Sponsored

brewski

First Name
Jack
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLUR-diesel
Tug-o-war is about traction not power. Torque gets you off the line, horsepower makes you go fast. Basically torque at low revs, horsepower in the higher revs.

so to answer your question it is going to be who has the better tires, tire pressure, lower center of gravity, etc .... grip.... that will win.

OP
OP
rickinAZ

rickinAZ

First Name
Rick
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Tug-o-war is about traction not power. Torque gets you off the line, horsepower makes you go fast. Basically torque at low revs, horsepower in the higher revs.

so to answer your question it is going to be who has the better tires, tire pressure, lower center of gravity, etc .... grip.... that will win.
Good point, but...given the near identical everything-but-engine (including tires), my assumption would be that traction differences are about as minimal as can be.

Compression-Ignition

First Name
Roy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR 3.0 Diesel, 2020 6.7L F350
Vehicle tug of wars are dumb. That being said, the Diesel wins this one hands down with equal setups. Same tires and same height of attachment points.

SouthCo

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Billet Silver Sahara