Wiring Multiple Lights to Aux Switches

DHW

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
613
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
Has anyone had a situation where you have wired multiple lights, or whatever else, to the same OEM aux switch at both locations, under the hood and under the passenger dash?

Here is what I'm looking to do: Currently I have two Rigid DSS's mounted over my spare in the back of the Jeep, which are powered by AUX 4. I ran the wiring for these through the tailgate and through the inside of the Jeep up to the AUX connections under the passenger dash. I just got a Westin WJ2 rear bumper and will be installing two Rigid D-Series Floods and two Westin rock lights in the bumper. I want all 6 rear lights tied into one AUX switch. My plan is to wire the D-Series and rock lights together and then either 1) wire those into the already existing wiring for the DSSs or 2) run new wiring underneath the Jeep all the way to the AUX connections under the hood.

I know that many lights will require AUX 1 or 2, so in clarifying my question, if I leave the DSS's wired to AUX 2 under the dash, can I wire the D-Series and rock lights to the AUX 2 connection under the hood and have AUX 2 turn on all 6 lights?

My reasoning is that I don't think I can wire the D-Series/rock lights to the DSS's wiring without there being exposed wires somewhere in the back.
Advertisement

 
Last edited:
OP
OP
DHW

DHW

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
613
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
SO I went ahead and tried this, wiring lights to both the Aux 2 connection under the dash and under the hood, flipped the switch and the ENTIRE JEEP EXPLODED! Luckily I had just returned from LARPing and was wearing a full medieval suit of armor, thus saving my life!
 

jeepdriver99

Well-Known Member
First Name
JD
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
182
Reaction score
144
Location
Central Ohio
Vehicle(s)
18 JLR 2 Door, 21 JLU TD, 06 GC, 54 Willys SW
Occupation
Retired, W8BWD
Whew. I'm glad you survived.

I don't know how to answer your question. AUX1 and 2 are 40 AMP rated and I don't think it would matter if you were using only 1 of the wires (inside vs outside) or both. I think there is 40 AMPs to either one or both combined.

My advice would be to NOT hook all of the lights directly to the AUX1 or 2 wires. You need to know the amperage of each light and add them together to see if they add up to less than 20 AMPs. I say 20 AMPs because when you turn an electrical appliance on, it draws up to twice the amperage that it needs to run, on start up, So if your lights are 5 AMPs each, when you turn them on, you will pull up to 60 AMPS initially and overload it blowing the fuse.

Does that answer your question?
 
OP
OP
DHW

DHW

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
613
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
Whew. I'm glad you survived.

I don't know how to answer your question. AUX1 and 2 are 40 AMP rated and I don't think it would matter if you were using only 1 of the wires (inside vs outside) or both. I think there is 40 AMPs to either one or both combined.

My advice would be to NOT hook all of the lights directly to the AUX1 or 2 wires. You need to know the amperage of each light and add them together to see if they add up to less than 20 AMPs. I say 20 AMPs because when you turn an electrical appliance on, it draws up to twice the amperage that it needs to run, on start up, So if your lights are 5 AMPs each, when you turn them on, you will pull up to 60 AMPS initially and overload it blowing the fuse.

Does that answer your question?
Ha, thanks. Just having a bit of fun since I didn't get any responses.

And yes, I already thought of exactly what you stated, except I didn't know the part about drawing twice the amperage on startup. Does that also apply to LED lighting?

The total amperage for all six lights in the rear is 13.5. So double that you have 27 amps.

However, I've had 4 DSSs hooked into AUX 1 for months, and the total amperage for those 4 lights is 17 amps. Double that and you have 34 amps, but I've never had any issues at all with those lights. That's why I was wondering if doubled amperage on startup does not apply to LED lighting.
 

jeepdriver99

Well-Known Member
First Name
JD
Joined
Jan 27, 2018
Messages
182
Reaction score
144
Location
Central Ohio
Vehicle(s)
18 JLR 2 Door, 21 JLU TD, 06 GC, 54 Willys SW
Occupation
Retired, W8BWD
Ha, thanks. Just having a bit of fun since I didn't get any responses.

And yes, I already thought of exactly what you stated, except I didn't know the part about drawing twice the amperage on startup. Does that also apply to LED lighting?

The total amperage for all six lights in the rear is 13.5. So double that you have 27 amps.

However, I've had 4 DSSs hooked into AUX 1 for months, and the total amperage for those 4 lights is 17 amps. Double that and you have 34 amps, but I've never had any issues at all with those lights. That's why I was wondering if doubled amperage on startup does not apply to LED lighting.
I don't know how much of an increased amperage there is with LEDs when turned on. It seems logical that their draw is substantially less.

If it were me, I'd probably use the AUX switch to activate a relay to power the lights.
 

jawest12

Well-Known Member
First Name
Aaron
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
328
Reaction score
280
Location
WV
Website
jeepinwv.com
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLU Rubicon, 2018 JLU Sahara
I wouldn't worry about your load being half. More like 3/4 of the rating. Those rating are based on continuous load. Fuses and relays can take quite a bit more than their continuous rating to blow.

Read the below info for a MUCH better explanation than I can give.

https://www.12voltplanet.co.uk/fuses-guide-uses.html
 

Nash_Dj

Member
First Name
Nash
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
9
Location
Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler WILLYS 2021
Late to the party, but wandering if you ever connected the lights to the both sides of the harness (cabin and under the hood) of the same AUX switch? Did your Jeep explode if you did it? 😀😀😀
 
  • Like
Reactions: DHW
OP
OP
DHW

DHW

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
613
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
Late to the party, but wandering if you ever connected the lights to the both sides of the harness (cabin and under the hood) of the same AUX switch? Did your Jeep explode if you did it? 😀😀😀
Ha, the good ol’ exploding Jeep gag! But no, I never did. I connected all six lights in the back to AUX 2 through the cabin and haven’t had any problems. But I guess that question remains unanswered. Still don’t know if that would work.
 

Redbaron73

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ronnie
Joined
Oct 1, 2019
Messages
522
Reaction score
450
Location
Texas
Vehicle(s)
2020 sport s unlimited;2020 Rubicon Unlimited
You can use either location, or both locations. It is basically a Y connection to the load side of the relay protected by the single fuse. No matter how you connect it, the max amps for total load applies.
 
OP
OP
DHW

DHW

Well-Known Member
First Name
David
Joined
May 30, 2019
Messages
613
Reaction score
1,277
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon
Occupation
Attorney
You can use either location, or both locations. It is basically a Y connection to the load side of the relay protected by the single fuse. No matter how you connect it, the max amps for total load applies.
Appreciate the clarification!
 

Nash_Dj

Member
First Name
Nash
Joined
Dec 20, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
9
Location
Burnaby, BC Canada
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler WILLYS 2021
You can use either location, or both locations. It is basically a Y connection to the load side of the relay protected by the single fuse. No matter how you connect it, the max amps for total load applies.
That sounds definitive, than. Thanks a lot for clarifying. Heading to my garage, right now, to do exactly what I asked for, 2 LED lights on the cabin connection and 2 under the hood!!! My amperage is total of 8A, so safe on this side as well... What an excellent group of people on this forum, I was in doubt 8 hours ago, asked the question and all resolved by now... 👍👍👍 Thanks.
 
Advertisement

Tri-City Jeep
 
Advertisement
Top