INKCHK

First Name
Raquel
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL
Hey Everyone!

I am rather new at this but has anyone ever been told that the manufacturer's warranty is void after a lift has been put on a Jeep?

I have a 2.5 inch lift of my 2018 JL and apparently (according to the dealership) the lift is "directly effecting" the wiring harness. They replaced a module and another part under warranty but when they discovered the wiring harness is being "pulled by the lift and tires" they will not warranty it. I have had the lift on for over a year (installed by a certified MetalCloak dealer), and nothing was wrong. All of a sudden, in December, all these notifications start to flash across the dash, "SWAY BAR!", "SWAY BAR DISCONNECT UNAVAILABLE", "SERVICE 4WD". The 2H,4H,4L lights also flicker.

The first visit to Safford Jeep of Fredericksburg, I presented my problem and was told to come back when the issue got worse. I decided not to go back. So I went to Safford of Warrenton.

After presenting my issue to the service advisor, I was initially told that there are not many issues like this so that is why Jeep could not warranty the part. Then I was told that is was because I had a 2.5 inch lift and 35 inch tires that were pulling the harness. I tried speaking with the service manager at the dealership and he did not want to talk to me. When he finally emerged from his office (I could see him through the window) he just gave me a part number (for a harness that is 4 inches longer) and told me what it would cost to replace it (over $1000) and retreated back into his office before I could ask him anything.