Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Long story short. Terrible experience with two $hittybilt 9500 XRC synthetic rope winches from Extreme Terrain.
They are taking care of me in terms of returning it and upgrading. At my price point I have two options. A 9500lb Barricade synthetic rope with wireless controller or a 8000lb Warn VR8-S synthetic rope PLUS $100.

I know Warn is the holy grail but it's only 8000lb vs. the 9500lb of the Barricade. Here are the winches and I would appreciate any advice but please know these are my only two choices. I don't have nay money to throw at this to buy some much more expensive one which I'm sure someone will tell me to buy :)

https://www.extremeterrain.com/warn-vr8s-8000-lb-winch-w-synthetic-rope-1.html
https://www.extremeterrain.com/barricade-wireless-9500-sr-j101798.html
Sponsored

Last Mango

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JL Unlimited Rubicon
I have a simple theory. Buy the best (Based on my criteria), once. With that said, I understand budgets and other constraints. I often off road alone, so if I need a winch, it had better work. If it doesn't, there is nobody else around, and my cell phone likely won't have reception. I'm also not yet sold on wireless winch controller. Again, when things go bad, I want as few variables as possible in the recovery.

Given the choices you offer, there is zero doubt in my mind which I would choose. How were those Smittybilt experiences? Go Warn.

Cheers,
James

stil2low

First Name
Craig
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Jeep jk
The VR is warns offshore brand and quality has been hit or miss with those winches. Most of their winches now are over priced for what they are, just paying for the w up front
The barricade has some good specs to it, better than the VR’s

9E563F94-077F-44D7-AECF-E329BE728849.jpeg

Quadratec

Summit Sponsor (Level 3)
Threads
Reaction score