Sponsored

Will the battery protect itself from drainage?

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
Heading out camping this weekend and will be sleeping in the Jeep. I plan on running a little 8", 120v fan from the power outlet on the backside of the center console. I suspect that running that will drain the battery so was wondering if at some point the battery kills power to the outlet if it gets low. Anyone have real life experience or info on this?
Sponsored

Tumbleweed

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
18' JLU Auto 3.6L
Let me start off by saying im no expert and im struggling to understand the dual battery setup but I dont believe it has any drain protection from what ive been reading. Youll just drain the battery to the point there isnt enough voltage to start the Jeep and if it does drain, you'll need another vehicle to jump it as a battery jumper isnt sufficient due to the 24v ESS battery. If you're going alone i wouldn't risk it imo. Im in the same boat, im going for a 4 day solo camping trip in Utah and would like to run a little fan but im worried ill be stranded alone in the Valley of the Gods. I dont have the funds to install a dual battery or deep cycle battery just yet either

Adventure.AS

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JLUR
Heading out camping this weekend and will be sleeping in the Jeep. I plan on running a little 8", 120v fan from the power outlet on the backside of the center console. I suspect that running that will drain the battery so was wondering if at some point the battery kills power to the outlet if it gets low. Anyone have real life experience or info on this?
Using the inverter outlet is not as power efficient as using a 12 volt fan. You can find them at an RV store and some don’t have large amp draws. I like the Caframo compact fans as they are quiet and only draw .55 amps

Ma$$iveDebtAche

Threads