Where to off road in the Tampa Bay area

bless0

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Unlimited Sahara
I am new to this JEEP thing and i am looking for a spot where i can go off road a bit and get the JEEP dirty. I want to take my daughter and let her drive as well. I am looking for something not too technical. I can get to the Ocala national forest or Withlacoochee state forest pretty easily, but i have no idea where to go at those locations. Any suggestions will be appreciated.
Sponsored

dpike

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 JLUR 3.6
there's a badge you can get in Ocala. if you stick to the main trails its not very complicated at all. it would be a nice introduction for her. side trails get a bit narrow so be careful on those. the area is patrolled very well by rangers and military (?).

Jeep Wrangler JL Where to off road in the Tampa Bay area MS4OLc4

there's a few entrances off of 40
Jeep Wrangler JL Where to off road in the Tampa Bay area rhPArdv

longfiredragon

First Name
Darryl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUW Sport 2.0 L Turbo
I just looked at the Withlacoochee area the other day. I think this will be my next place I go off road in FL. Do some checking I believe you may be able to get a map at a ranger station, and I believe they have a map on a large board once you get in the park area (Most parks, WMA's in FL do) If they do you can take a couple pic.s with our phone.

I want to say on their website they might have had a map also. going off memory, at work right now, will have to check again later.

Either way I don't think you can really get lost out there. Just make sure you have a full tank of gas, lots of water and food. Also I watched video of Withlacoochee and some of the holes were pretty deep, so be careful in some of the areas as to not get stuck. A recovery rope and winch would be a plus. Or maybe just not tackle some of the deeper holes.

Be careful, have fun!