Sponsored

Where do you put the lifting arm on a high lift jack to lift your Jeep?

ThiccBoyardee

First Name
Ethan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Wrangler 2019 JL Sport
I’m new to off-roading and I don’t know how exactly to use my high lift jack. The videos I watched weren’t very helpful. They said to put it on the rock rail but the rock rail looks so thin. I have a 2019 JL Wrangler where do I put the lifting arm of the jack to lift it? Thanks.
Sponsored

D60

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JL
I actually just had to lift a tire on the trail and I used the Rubi rock rail. I don't think it's ideal but it worked. You may want a rag to protect the body if the top of the jack starts to tip in. I was using my ARB so it's shorter.

More than that you want (NEED) a game plan to keep the suspension from dropping out, esp if you're lifted. I broke two 1" ratchet straps (individually) while jacking. The second one held just long enough but snapped as I was finishing up.

I'm very seriously considering welding a grab hook to the frame at all 4 corners and carrying a short length of chain. At the axle you can usually find a bracket to hook on to.

GearWhore

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR Diesel, 1972 Arctic Cat Climber, 2006 Triumph Speed Triple
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Gentleman Explorer
Rock rails work if necessary. So does the hitch receiver. Neither are ideal, and the jack can slip side-to-side on the rock rails if you aren't careful. As D60 suggests, I keep a couple rags in the tool kit or floor storage area to cover the top of the jack if I need to protect paint.

Some bumpers and rock rails have "T" shape slots built-in for a hi-lift jack. Hi-Lift also had a small hook on chain accessory at one point. Maybe similar but less permanent than D60s idea.