Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase
I have a Sahara with a 2" spacer lift and Rubi rims/tires. My wife wants fatter tires so they stick out past the fenders a little. I said "well that is going to take another 40,000 more miles but you could get spacers".
So the questions are...
- What are the best spacers?
- What is the safest size to go with?
- Does this strain the axle or hub?
- Do I use locktite when installing (I've heard it both ways).
Sponsored

WranglerMan

First Name
Will
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sahara
Occupation
Gas Pipeliner
Vehicle Showcase
JMHO... I never liked the idea of spacers, from my understanding into looking at them when I did my lift and tires you have to occasionally check and torque the spacer nuts but not sure that’s correct for all of them and then I spoke to a few guys like @TTEChris and some guys I know and discount tire and all of them suggested I sell my Sahara wheels and just get wheels with a negative offset to push them out further so I don’t have to deal with spacers so I did just that and went to a 17” -12 offset wheel and sold my complete Sahara setup and so far have had no issues

silverbullet

First Name
Keaton
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 JKU, 2018 JLU Rubi
Spidertrax, Synergy, Teraflex, G2 are all brands to live by with regard to spacers. 1.5" hub-centric is the industry standard.

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
Spidertrax, Synergy, Teraflex, G2 are all brands to live by with regard to spacers. 1.5" hub-centric is the industry standard.
As noted by the other poster regarding offset rims, is there a disadvantage to spacing instead?

Sponsored

Icepak

First Name
Jon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Sahara Unlimited
As noted by the other poster regarding offset rims, is there a disadvantage to spacing instead?