Sponsored

What to look for in a test drive before accepting new Wrangler??

el_guapo

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Dodge Viper, JLU 392
I'm new to Jeeps but should be picking up my 392 in about a month. Feels like it's been 60 days straight of Christmas Eve with 30 more in front of me...

My build includes Granite Crystal, gorilla glass, dual doors, hard-top liner, all-weather floor mats, hinge-gate reinforcement, trailer tow package, front camera...

Curious what recommendations you have for what to test/check prior to accepting it from the dealership.

Based on what I've read here, the first 7 will be:

1) check alignment, does it run straight on a flat, straight road
2) u-turns & tight turns, any problems with warning lights or power steering
3) how's the steering feel at highway speeds, sounds like some of them jump all over the road and some are better
4) check that fuses are completely inserted
5) what color is the tailgate plate (those on the 392 boards know what that means, likely fine at this point though)
6) does the paint on various surfaces match (someone posted about a brown hue on parts of their Granite Crystal Jeep)
7) check engine light (as @Alleycat392 says, " PLEASE MAKE SURE you never take possession of a new vehicle with check engine light still on at dealership under ANY circumstances")

Thanks in advance for your ideas.

Edits below:

8) make sure dealership fillls it up with 91 octane
9) pick up only in daylight
10) instruct dealer not to wash
11) check true pressure before driving
Sponsored

Last edited:

aldo98229

First Name
Aldo
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Jeep Gladiator, 2018 Fiat 124 Spider
Occupation
Market Research
Vehicle Showcase
First thing is to check tire pressures.

Dealers love to over inflate the tires to 40+. Factory recommended is 36 PSI.

That alone will determine how the entire test drive feels —i.e., the steering, the ride, etc.