Sponsored

What tire pressure now with bigger tires?

kantho

First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Sport 2 door with premium soft top
How do I know what pressure to run my new Toyo A/T III's? They are 285/75r17s. The door jamb shows 36 pounds but that's for the stock tires and rims. These are C rated with a maximum pressure of 50 pounds.
Is there some "tell" that my pressure is right? The TPMS shows up to 41 pounds when the tires are hot from running in the sun and that feels why too high but then I'm not really knowledgeable about what the "right" pressure would feel like.
Sponsored

OP
OP
kantho

kantho

First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I have mine at 34 and rides and handles very good
Thanks for your feedback. What size tire?

So many wonderful opinions on so many topics, I am honestly surprise I got only one. I'd love any ideas about how to tell whether my pressure is good, too high or too low. What are the clues? I am a newbie so I love to hear it all and yes, I did a search first.

PyrPatriot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator
Per a chalk test, my Falken MT 35/12.5/17 on OEM wheels (7.5" wide, mfg recommends 8.5" wide min) 28-30psi gets me at full contact on pavement. But, my rig with family and everyday gear in it is about 5800lbs so take that into consideration as well.

OP
OP
kantho

kantho

First Name
Karl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Per a chalk test, my Falken MT 35/12.5/17 on OEM wheels (7.5" wide, mfg recommends 8.5" wide min) 28-30psi gets me at full contact on pavement. But, my rig with family and everyday gear in it is about 5800lbs so take that into consideration as well.
Definitely a noob here. What's a "chalk test?"

Sponsored

PyrPatriot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator
Definitely a noob here. What's a "chalk test?"