Sponsored

What sort of deal should I expect on a 2018 at this point?

Waterloo

First Name
Ethan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Sting-Gray Sahara, 2006 Honda Pilot Silver
Vehicle Showcase
Hello, everyone. Newbie here, not yet a Jeep owner but trying to change that!

A dealer a couple hours away has a 2018 Sahara Unlimited that is fully loaded (ll the options I want and a couple more), less than 150 miles on it, and 13.5% under invoice. It checks every box, but were fighting over the last $1500. I know $1500 isn't a lot when you're buying a $40k+ vehicle, but at that point, I wonder if I'm better just looking for the right 2019 instead. In other words, it's a deal at $44k but once it hits $46k maybe I don't want a 2018.

Am I overthinking this? No one in my household would be surprised. :D

Second, somewhat related question, is it normal to pay extra if you don't finance through the dealer? Dealer sent me an offer sheet with a number, I said "cool", they said "but it's $1500 more if you don't finance with us". All of this happened over the phone, not after a drive, so that's good. is this just normal and I need to suck it up? Last new vehicle I bought was eight years ago and it was dead simple.

Thanks for reading.

EDIT: I had the % under invoice calculated wrong. It's 13.5% under invoice, not 20.
Sponsored

Last edited:

four low

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL
Extra to finance through them ? No way. A dealer near me has 7 2018 Saharas, priced to move, no Gimmicks or Games. Look at Cooper Jeep, Richfield Springs, NY. 315-858-1350, ask for Kevin Royce. Hit the Cooperstown Baseball Hall of Fame, drive a JLU home...

lonz

First Name
Lonz
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Order Jeep Wrangler JL
What's the MSRP? You'll want to be at least 20% below MSRP for a 2018.

Robs JL

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JL Sahara
Hello, everyone. Newbie here, not yet a Jeep owner but trying to change that!