Used Wrangler Unlimited Thoughts

Sqdqo

First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19 silverado 1500
I'm considering a used Wrangler Unlimited for purely secondary use so it doesnt have to be a pristine vehicle but it needs to be reliable. My uses are hunting - fishing- forest exploration in northern Michigan during all seasons.
I am not a mechanic so my hope would be to find a well maintained vehicle that wont immediately start nickle & diming me.
Assuming I am looking at a well maintained properly serviced W/U at what milage do you start getting concerned about the mileage being to high?
Starting at 2007 and running up to say 2013 are there model years better than others? Years to avoid?
Sponsored

GreyFox

First Name
Brandy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 JKU, 19 JL
I'm considering a used Wrangler Unlimited for purely secondary use so it doesnt have to be a pristine vehicle but it needs to be reliable. My uses are hunting - fishing- forest exploration in northern Michigan during all seasons.
I am not a mechanic so my hope would be to find a well maintained vehicle that wont immediately start nickle & diming me.
Assuming I am looking at a well maintained properly serviced W/U at what milage do you start getting concerned about the mileage being to high?
Starting at 2007 and running up to say 2013 are there model years better than others? Years to avoid?
Hmm, I want to say you want to look at 2012+... Isn't that when the JK was rebooted with the 3.6? Someone will chime in.

multicam

First Name
Tanner
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 4Runner, 2019 JLR
Vehicle Showcase
However many people respond to this thread, thatā€™s how many opinions youā€™re going to get.

Whatā€™s your budget? I recommend looking at 2012 or newer, but make sure the ā€˜12 to ā€˜14 ones have had the lifter issue taken care of (others here can explain this better; I despise the JK so couldnā€™t care less what issues it had).