Sponsored

Upgrade of UConnect 3 5" to Phoenix Automotive 9" Octa-Core Android Navigation Radio

gramanero

First Name
Scott
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport (JL)
Vehicle Showcase
I recently purchased the 9" Octa-Core Android Navigation Radio from Phoenix Automotive. I have the unit installed and while it is a tight fit, it does in fact fit. My goal was to not pay the high price tag (at least high for me) for the 8.4" OEM solution and to gain the feature that I wanted which was Navigation + all the fun bells and whistles that comes with the Android O.S.

I have seen posts on wiring diagrams for the stock unit and have been digging through the various-related wiring diagrams for the stereo, but I am no electrician and am just not totally understanding how to re-connect a few of the wires. I have reached out to Phoenix Automotive support, but ... they have been less than responsive and when they do respond the help has been less than helpful. Mostly the unit works great but I have a couple of items to check off my list before being 100% satisfied with the unit.

I could really use some help to understand what the three fakra plugs are that were originally plugged into the stock uconnect 3 5" unit that does have SiriusXM radio. I am including images of the wires in question and an image of the back of the stock unit where I started to label what the ports are meant for as I understand it. There are three wires in question:
  • Red port on unit (male fakra port) and red fakra (female) wire - I think this is the rear back-up camera
  • Yellow-ish port on unit (male fakra port) and blue fakra (female) wire - I think this is the SiriusXM wiring to the antenna hidden in the top cross-member
  • White port on unit (male fakra port) and white fakra (female) wire - I think this is the AM/FM Antenna wiring
  • Grey port on unit (micro-usb) and grey wire - I think this is for the USB connection
upload_2019-9-13_9-54-37.png