Turn on rock lights temporarily when unlocking the doors?

aham23

Well-Known Member
First Name
A
Joined
Dec 7, 2020
Messages
109
Reaction score
34
Location
Arizona
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLU Rubicon
so the courtesy wire is the YELLOW, not the green/white as pictured above. I want them only on as part of the courtesy lighting.

21 JLUR with Aux Package.

Tacking this project soon. Much thanks all!





Advertisement

 

millerjl

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chuck
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
468
Reaction score
344
Location
San Diego, CA
Vehicle(s)
JLU Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase
1
Looking to do similar as well. Have KC cyclone rock kit on the way. Total is 2.52amps so not worried about running to footwell light for one source and aux 2 for other. Question, can I use a roadmaster 792 diode(2 inputs 1 output) or should I put a single line roadmaster 690 diode on each power input?
 

Will_Jeep

Well-Known Member
First Name
Will
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
379
Reaction score
336
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
Black 2108 JKU Sahara, Black 2016 Mercedes CLS400
Vehicle Showcase
1
Looking to do similar as well. Have KC cyclone rock kit on the way. Total is 2.52amps so not worried about running to footwell light for one source and aux 2 for other. Question, can I use a roadmaster 792 diode(2 inputs 1 output) or should I put a single line roadmaster 690 diode on each power input?
Based on the backup light thread, and my garage knowledge of electronics, I think that you should be good with the 2 inputs 1 output version. In this instance you are using the diode to stop the electricity flowing back into the second power source, when the first is switched on, and you are only feeding one, common, device (rock lights).
 

millerjl

Well-Known Member
First Name
Chuck
Joined
Jun 28, 2018
Messages
468
Reaction score
344
Location
San Diego, CA
Vehicle(s)
JLU Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase
1
That’s what I am thinking. My only concern is a guess potentially there could be a time when power is on from aux 3 and the door is open giving power from the footwell lights. Will that burn up the diode or the lights?
 

Will_Jeep

Well-Known Member
First Name
Will
Joined
Feb 27, 2019
Messages
379
Reaction score
336
Location
Atlanta
Vehicle(s)
Black 2108 JKU Sahara, Black 2016 Mercedes CLS400
Vehicle Showcase
1
That’s what I am thinking. My only concern is a guess potentially there could be a time when power is on from aux 3 and the door is open giving power from the footwell lights. Will that burn up the diode or the lights?
I don’t believe that it cause any issues, the lights will only draw what they need, amps. You still only have 12v going in, just from two sources, if one shuts off it will still have 12v from the other source, but the current draw remains the same.
 

Jeep Generation

Well-Known Member
First Name
Kevin
Joined
May 12, 2018
Messages
1,233
Reaction score
2,870
Location
San Dimas CA
Website
www.youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon, 2014 JK Willys, 1999 TJ Sport, 1966 CJ5-A
IMG_8029.jpg
IMG_8030.jpg
IMG_8033.jpg
IMG_9722.jpg


Got the Cyclones installed over the weekend. I put 8 under the Jeep.
4 on Each side. Front Bumper, Front Door, Rear Door, Rear Bumper.
Then I made a bracket out of ABS plastic and mounted a dual input diode and relay.
I can turn on the lights with my Trigger Switch System, or for momentary with the key fob courtesy light when unlocking.
I ran 4 circuits, 2 cyclones per. Front bumper, drive side, passenger side and rear bumper.
This is obviously way overkill than what is needed.
 

Advertisement




Bestop
 



Advertisement
Top