Trip to Ouray and Moab September/October 2021

Category5Bronado

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrangler
I'm planning my first trip to Colorado and Utah for 09/28-10/4 and was hoping to get some insight from others that have gone. I'll be in my stock 2020 JLUR. Tentatively my schedule is planned for arriving in Ouray 09/27. I'll probably sightsee / explore the town that day and then I planned for doing trails/passes (Alpine loop, black bear, etc) 09/28, 09/29, and 09/30. I could stretch that another day if I have enough recommendations of trails to run. Once done with the Colorado trails, I plan on driving to Moab and then spending a couple days there.

I haven't been to either state before so I don't know how long each trail takes, which are good for stock rubicons, etc. I have some wheeling experience in Missouri through trails in offload parks. What trails/passes does everyone recommend? How long do they take? If someone could give me an itinerary of what order to run the trails that would be awesome. I read somewhere that someone recommended taking Corkscrew to Hurricane pass, then California Pass to Animals Fork. Does that sound right?

I'm not necessarily looking for difficult Offroad trails and would prefer scenic ones with less chance of breaking.

Also what gear would everyone recommend I bring? Are ham radios used in the area? I have a 2M radio I could bring.

Thanks in advance for the help!
Sponsored

jlang

First Name
JDawg
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Jeep JL Punk'D Rubicon
Occupation
Semi-Retired
This will be fun. I plan on doing this next year. Have you made hotel reservations yet? I hear this can be difficult in some of these smaller areas.

OP
OP

Category5Bronado

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Wrangler
This will be fun. I plan on doing this next year. Have you made hotel reservations yet? I hear this can be difficult in some of these smaller areas.