TPMS Warning light on, but all sensors read pressure

morricus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
91
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
See picture below, which appears to be contradictory. I bought 5 new TPMS sensors when I stalled my 37's about a month ago, everything worked perfectly. About a week ago, TPMS warning light went off. I did take a bit of air out of the tires went I went offroad, but the pressure was still set to about 28 psi. I have a Tazer Lite that is currently set to 25 PSI.

What am I missing? How can I get the TPMS warning light, but all 4 tires read an accurate pressure? I have noticed the Tazer is a bit glitchy. For instance, sometimes the ESS light doesn't come on even though I have it set to do so. This isn't a huge issue, just annoying. Any suggestions would be outstanding.

MVIMG_20190724_190713.jpg



Advertisement



 

TJ2018

Well-Known Member
First Name
Eric
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
2,102
Reaction score
9,952
Location
Orange County, CA
Vehicle(s)
2018 Punk'n JLUR; 2020 Silverado Trail Boss
Vehicle Showcase
1
Have you driven it? Not sure if you need to run it a few miles to clear the warning. The tazer does add a level of uncertainty to how the system should operate though.
 
OP
morricus

morricus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
91
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #3
Have you driven it? Not sure if you need to run it a few miles to clear the warning. The tazer does add a level of uncertainty to how the system should operate though.
Good point. Yes, I've driven it about 50 miles like this. I went into the Tazer set up to verify 25 psi setting and rebooted, no change.
 

TJ2018

Well-Known Member
First Name
Eric
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
2,102
Reaction score
9,952
Location
Orange County, CA
Vehicle(s)
2018 Punk'n JLUR; 2020 Silverado Trail Boss
Vehicle Showcase
1
Good point. Yes, I've driven it about 50 miles like this. I went into the Tazer set up to verify 25 psi setting and rebooted, no change.
Well good luck nonetheless!
 
OP
morricus

morricus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
91
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #5
I guess I'll call Tazer, maybe they'll know.
 

WranglerMan

Well-Known Member
First Name
Will
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,919
Reaction score
1,262
Location
Katy Texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sahara
Occupation
Gas Pipeliner
Vehicle Showcase
1
I had the exact same issue but mine read from the first install and the idiot light never went out, it was not until Chris of a Tankcustoms got ahold of his vendor and they replaced all 5 sensors with new OEM ones and then they all started working but it seems that these JL’s have a mind of there own with these sensors
 
OP
morricus

morricus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
91
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #7
I had the exact same issue but mine read from the first install and the idiot light never went out, it was not until Chris of a Tankcustoms got ahold of his vendor and they replaced all 5 sensors with new OEM ones and then they all started working but it seems that these JL’s have a mind of there own with these sensors
Thanks for the info. The sensors that are in there are from Ebay. So perhaps that has something to do with it. There is no reason OEM sensors should cost $50 per or whatever nonsense they are. I guess I'll just live with it.
 

WranglerMan

Well-Known Member
First Name
Will
Joined
May 8, 2018
Messages
1,919
Reaction score
1,262
Location
Katy Texas
Vehicle(s)
2018 Wrangler JLU Sahara
Occupation
Gas Pipeliner
Vehicle Showcase
1
Thanks for the info. The sensors that are in there are from Ebay. So perhaps that has something to do with it. There is no reason OEM sensors should cost $50 per or whatever nonsense they are. I guess I'll just live with it.
You can buy a Tazer and turn the TPMS system off or you can pull all (5) sensors and after a few starters the light goes out and warning messages go away or at least this is what a few members here have reported.

I understand the concept and safety of the system but long before TPMS sensors we checked our tire pressures at least once a month with a gage we all carried in glovebox
 

mikej

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
535
Reaction score
532
Location
California
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLUR
I have this exact same problem, with a bit of a twist. Mine were fine until the dealer did a five wheel rotation. They checked each sensor with some Mopar tool and all sensors passed those tests. My sensors are aftermarket, but seem to work just fine. Even after driving for a few weeks, it still hasn’t reset.

My plan right now is to go back to the dealer, but I’m annoyed at the whole situation because I’m expecting to have to swap sensors. Maybe I’ll wait until I get new tires and just turn off the TPMS for now.
 
OP
morricus

morricus

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2018
Messages
133
Reaction score
91
Location
Illinois
Vehicle(s)
2018 Rubicon Unlimited, 2015 GMC Yukon XL, 2006 BMW M3
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
I have this exact same problem, with a bit of a twist. Mine were fine until the dealer did a five wheel rotation. They checked each sensor with some Mopar tool and all sensors passed those tests. My sensors are aftermarket, but seem to work just fine. Even after driving for a few weeks, it still hasn’t reset.

My plan right now is to go back to the dealer, but I’m annoyed at the whole situation because I’m expecting to have to swap sensors. Maybe I’ll wait until I get new tires and just turn off the TPMS for now.
Exactly. Its time consuming and expensive to swap these things. Its not like changing oil, its a damn process. I like having the ability to check my air pressure on the center console, so I don't want to deactivate them. But I'm getting to that point anyway. I check and change the pressure manually enough that I really don't need these sensors. But its absurd this issue exists. Thanks for responding, I'm glad to know I'm not the only one having this issue.
 

JeepCares

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
3,382
Reaction score
1,359
Location
Auburn Hills, MI
Vehicle(s)
JL
I have this exact same problem, with a bit of a twist. Mine were fine until the dealer did a five wheel rotation. They checked each sensor with some Mopar tool and all sensors passed those tests. My sensors are aftermarket, but seem to work just fine. Even after driving for a few weeks, it still hasn’t reset.

My plan right now is to go back to the dealer, but I’m annoyed at the whole situation because I’m expecting to have to swap sensors. Maybe I’ll wait until I get new tires and just turn off the TPMS for now.
Hi mikej,

Sorry to hear you are experiencing this concern. If you do head back to your dealer in relation to this, feel free to send us a private message. We would be more than happy to provide you with an additional layer of assistance.

Mark
Jeep Social Care Specialist
 

ATXMTB

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ben
Joined
Apr 18, 2018
Messages
86
Reaction score
38
Location
Austin
Vehicle(s)
Ocean Blue JLU Sport S, Red Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
Vehicle Showcase
1
Mine started doing this same thing after a five tire rotation. This is my first Jeep and it’s amazing how many small things don’t work on these vehicles that I would take for granted on another truck. It all adds up to a lot. I guess I’ll just live with this light being on constantly.


I also have bent pins on my door harness which is apparently going to be an ongoing issue.
 

JSFoster75

Well-Known Member
First Name
Scott
Joined
Oct 6, 2019
Messages
367
Reaction score
310
Location
Bluff City, TN
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Unlimited Sahara x2
Vehicle Showcase
1
See picture below, which appears to be contradictory. I bought 5 new TPMS sensors when I stalled my 37's about a month ago, everything worked perfectly. About a week ago, TPMS warning light went off. I did take a bit of air out of the tires went I went offroad, but the pressure was still set to about 28 psi. I have a Tazer Lite that is currently set to 25 PSI.

What am I missing? How can I get the TPMS warning light, but all 4 tires read an accurate pressure? I have noticed the Tazer is a bit glitchy. For instance, sometimes the ESS light doesn't come on even though I have it set to do so. This isn't a huge issue, just annoying. Any suggestions would be outstanding.

MVIMG_20190724_190713.jpg

Did you check the pressure in your spare tire? It has a sensor as well
 

BHT

New Member
First Name
Brooks
Joined
Oct 15, 2019
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Location
Olive Branch, MS
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep JL
I have a 2018 JLU, 3” lift & 35” tires. The TPMS light stays on. It is reading tire pressure accurately. I have taken it to the dealership, they 1st reset them the light came back on the next day. 2nd time they replaced all the sensors with new OEMs. Picked it up at 3:30 Saturday, by 6:30 Saturday the light came back on and still reads the correct air pressure. Took it back to dealership they say they swapped out the wheels with a set of factory wheels and tires and everything worked fine. Put mine back on and drove less than 10 miles and light came back on. All 5 sensors have now been replaced as well as the pressure sensor. According to Jeep the solution is to go back to factory wheels and tires. Any ideas besides either leaving it on and ignoring it?
 

Goin2drt

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 25, 2017
Messages
1,474
Reaction score
1,540
Location
Kentucky (formerly Peoples Republik of Kalifornia)
Vehicle(s)
18 Rubicon, 17 Grand Cherokee Trailhawk
The problem is not with the TPMS sensors in the tire but the transmitter that sends the signal. It is a Jeep issue and good luck getting fixed. The way TPMS works is it sends a signal as the tire is rotating. If the signal is not strong enough to always get the signal then the light will be on. There is a signal so albeit a weak signal hence you are getting the correct pressure “when” it makes the connection. Unless you go back to stock lift, stock tires then you can continue to take to the dealer unless you get them to fix the issue but most likely it won’t happen in complete stock format.

For those with stock vehicles and the TPMS is having issues after a tire rotation. Take off your spare, leave it in the garage away from the vehicle and go drive the Jeep. Once the TPMS resets and is working, then put on your spare. Again the transmitter is getting confused. Yes there is a sensor in the spare HOWEVER they don’t have it register on the EVIC
 

                           
























































Top