Sponsored

To lift or not to lift

bwally

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 JLU Rubicon
Hey everyone. I know it’s a personal preference, but considering a Mopar 2” lift on my Rubicon and 35” tires.

My hesitation is that I love the ride as it is. I don’t rock crawl (live on the coast...no rocks or mountains). I’m afraid a lift and 35” tires will create a more rough daily drive (I don’t commute too far). But I do love the look of a lifted Jeep.

Just wanting to get feedback from those who have lifted. Has it affected your street/highway driving?

Also, will a Mopar lift increase “death wobble” chances.

Thanks.

upload_2019-5-6_21-32-16.jpeg
Sponsored

Fonzilla85

First Name
Fonz
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Jeep Wrangler JL Rubicon Unlimited
Occupation
Lawman
I’m no expert just speaking on what I’ve experienced so far. I’d recommend you start off by installing the 35’s. This way you can drive it around and see how it feels and handles. If you believe you need more or just want some additional clearance then add a lift.

As far as the death wobble, I personally haven’t had any issues. I don’t know if I’m lucky or if the “death wobble” is subjective. I’ve been running the Dynatrac 2” lift on 35’s and I have no complaints. A two inch lift is within original Jeep specs, but as with every modification, you should expect some changes.

RenoMD

First Name
DC
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 JL unlimited Rubicon
Do yourself a favor and don’t lift. I went back and forth on this. I drive moderate trails mostly but have tackled moderate rock crawling ( difference there) with 12-20 inch boulders. You would be surprised at what the stock rubicon can do that a JK lifted on 35’s can not do. For what your after just put 35’s on the stock wheels or aftermarket wheels.

Read
https://www.jlwranglerforums.com/forum/threads/jlu-rubicon-on-35s-no-lift.7290/